Sweet and Sour Meatballs III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Wow- okay, I'm the child of a chef, have been to the very finest restaurants and am very cautious about making a new recipe for guests without giving it a test drive with the family BUT... this was the hit of my party. Don't be afraid to try it especially with all the ingredients that don't seem like they would be appealing together. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2001
I was not to sure about trying this recipe since I hate sauerkraut but I thought I would give it a try. We LOVED it. I took it to a potluck and I brought none home (too bad). We will be using this recipe a lot and it is worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I got this recipe from my mom 40 years ago - served over rice it tastes just like stuffed cabbage! You can substitute a jar of grape jelly for the cranberry sauce, use whole-berry cranberry sauce, etc. My only real change is to use a pinch to 2 tbsp. brown sugar if any - 1/2 cup is way too much because of all the sugar in the cranberry sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I made this for a party and got rave reviews plus a empty crock pot. Everyone loved them. At first I was unsure how they would be with the ingredients but they were great!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I really loved this recipie. And I hate saurkraut!!I added 1/2 cup of ketchup and 1/4 cup of honey to this. It was soooo good my 5&7 year olds loved it too. Served it over steamed white Jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
I think I may be the only 3 star rating thus far, but I'm sorry I wasn't that impressed with these meatballs. The sauce is a very very mild "sweet and sour" but you really have to "taste" for the sour. As other reviewers noted, it is very sweet. So to the reviewer with the picky eater husband who complained they were too sweet, he was right on. I really wanted something with more kick. I should have tried one of the recipes with the chili sauce. I brought this to a potluck last night and brought home more than half the meatballs, so that should explain itself. I'll keep looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I tried these out on my picky family, and I must say, the pickiest of them all now calls this her favorite dish! She gets so excited when I tell her we are having this for dinner! I serve it on top of white rice, with spring rolls and sauteed stir fry veggies on the side! A total hit and totally easy for this working and VERY busy Mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THCOUNSELOR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Easy and excellent! Everyone loved these at my holiday party--my 10 year old daughter to friends who are great cooks. I think I used too much tomato sauce, but it was still good. I bought frozen meatballs, let them defrost a little bit and then browned on medium heat first for ten minutes while I made the sauce. I was running short on time, so I put the slow cooker on high for about 90 minutes and as soon as the sauce had a fairly smooth consistency and the meatballs were cooked all the way, I turned it to low for the rest of the night. For vegetarians, they do make seitan "meat"balls (which I made a seperate batch of on the stove), but I think you would be better off with "meatless" sausage links with this sauce if you have to go vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
This was such a bizarre combo of ingredients that I figured it HAD to be good - and it sure was!! The flavor of the sauce is sort of like pickled red cabbage. I used homemade turkey meatballs. This was really delicious. My husband did not like it though (hence the 4 stars instead of 5), he thought it was too sweet (but he's a very picky eater!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Super easy, but mixed reviews from some of our guests. I personally enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States