Sweet and Sour Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
If you are making these, here's a tip. Do not use apple cider vinegar - it's not the same thing as cider vinegar! It'll completely ruin your sauce. I found that out the hard way, had to throw out the sauce plus my house stunk for days. I tried it again with regular vinegar and it was great - I'm sure cider vinegar would be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
320 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurencelle
Home Town: La Broquerie, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: St. Adolphe, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
Good recipe. The meatballs are too plain, though, with only salt and pepper. One should either use seasoned bread crumbs or add some seasoning spices (dried parsley, sage, etc.). I added three more dashes of soy sauce to mellow the sweetness of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
These sweet and sour meatballs are absolutley great. The sweet and sour sauce is great on chicken wings also. I have made this recipe at least a billion times now and it's a hit with everyone. Absolutley great!!!!!! Believe me you will love this recipe and it's simple. Sometimes instead of making my own meatballs. I just buy the already made meatballs (like Armour meatballs). You just have to put the meatballs in the oven for 30-40 minutes (frozen). Make the sauce while you wait for the meatballs. Then just put the meatballs in the sauce. This is also great with mashed potates. Just sit the meatballs right on top of the mashed potatoes and it'll give your mashed potatoes a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLEMA1979
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
Yummmmmmmm!!! These were sooooooooo good!!! The only kind of vinegar I had on hand was white wine and I only used about 1/4 cup instead of 1/2 cup and the sauce turned out perfect! I think I'll even be making the sauce alone to pour on chicken. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
It is impossible for an average cook like myself to look at this simple ingredients list and determine that it could be converted into the wild, delicious taste extravaganza that resulted! I have 4 children, from 10-17, with a wide array of likes and dislikes. This one was a unanimous 5-star Eat Like A Viking contest. I knew I would have to double the batch, but it still disappeared. Great recipe and so easy, no fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Purgirl
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I-LOVED-THIS! We had this recipe yesterday for dinner and I feel like having it today too. I did everything as written EXCEPT for the cider vinegar. I did not have any, so I used white vinegar instead, ONLY 1 TBS. That's all you need trust me, if you put more, ur recipe will be ruined just like other reviewers have said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purgirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 15, 2004
FANTASTIC recipe! I took advice of other reviewers and halved the vinegar-I also only had white vinegar, so I used that. The only other change I made was add a small can of pineapple tidbits w/the juice. This was fast, easy and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
I found the sauce to bit over-sweet, but my husband requested that I make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Really wanted to like these...ease of prep but the meatballs were bland and the sauce was way too sweet. Sorry, will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeaky6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I made this and my family loved it! A welcome new addition to my menu planning. I did have make a few alterations due to ingredients on hand and it still turned out delicious. I used Balsamic vinager (3 TBLSP) in place of cider vinager, teriyaki sauce in place of soy sauce and added some Worcestershire sauce (3 TBLSP) to the meat mixture. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States