Sweet and Sour Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
With a couple changes, these were excellent!! For the sauce I used 3/4c water, 1/4c vinegar, 1/3 cup sugar and a little more soya sauce. Fast and easy! yummy this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JudyAngel101

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This recipe is also a off version of my moms. A sweet fav of mine. I like altering recipes to my taste and this one is great and easy to do that with. I first used more spice like other readers said(montreal steak spice,ground pepper,garlic salt) I mixed the ground beef 1/2 and 1/2 with pork. I've always found it a bit sweet with that much brown sugar so I cut it in half. I also used white vinegar, doubled or tripled the soy sauce, cut the ketchup in half(not because of the taste, but because of the color..I prefer a darker/richer sauce) I also added a touch of dark molasses(about 1 tbsp)To add to the richness of color. I doubled the recipe and by the time I was ready to eat there was only two meatballs left...Wow..an amazing recipe for sure! It's a great start to any great meal...playing with any recipe can be fun and adds a bit zest to everyday menus. Thanks for sharing it was nice to see a different version than my moms..got my creative thoughts going! Just goes to show...Moms and great mother in laws are a blessing to us when we are newbies to cooking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly but the sauce seemed too 'vinegar-y' so I ended up adding additinal ketchup and soy to the sauce before cooking. The vinegar was STILL too strong... DH couldn't even eat it. I ate it and liked it, but I tend to like vinegar-y things. I won't make again, though, as I'm the only one in the family who did eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRI_PAGE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
These were ok. Thought they needed a little something, but I'm not sure what that something was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Love them! I can't get cider vinegar here so I used regular vin and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
These were good but needed some extra seasoning for flavor. A touch of Garlic and Adobo in the sauce did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFMATHEMATIKS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This wasn't terrible, but it wasn't a hit either. The vinegar overpowered the dish for us. I made it as it's written, maybe I should have used some advice of others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Excellent as written. Meatballs could be jazzed up a little if you like. I used a can of crushed pineapple in place of the water. Yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove City, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This sauce was amazing! I only made the sauce part of this recipe because I wanted to use it on pre-packaged meatballs, chicken wings and ribs. It was very easy to make and was a total hit. I froze the extra for a quick dressing on a future dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by photophenom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
The sweet and sour sauce is fantastic and would also be great on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States