Sweet and Sour Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Good basic sauce recipe. Add orange zest! It really makes a difference. I halved the sauce and it was plenty saucy for 6 servings with extra sauce to pour over rice. I used a quarter of the brown sugar (so if you make the full recipe, use half). If you use as much sugar as the recipe calls for, it'll taste like candy. I used apple cider vinegar and I quartered that as well (again, if you're making the full recipe, use half). You can always taste the sauce and add more sugar or vinegar but if it's too sweet or vinegary, you can't go back and the whole thing will be ruined. I made my own meatballs (just mixed half a pound of Italian sausage and half a pound of ground turkey) and lightly sauteed an onion, a red bell pepper and a yellow bell pepper. Overall, a good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lariena Cowling
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Just made this for Dinner with creamy mash an added cheese and ginger to the meatballs an was superb!, I'm not sure what cider vinegar is I'm in australia (corn starch is cornflour) so I presumed white vinegar would do, which it worked out great =). Definitely a good easy meatball dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Sweet, tangy, sour deliciousness. I eyeball my ingredients and it always turns out delish. Mix the meat with some onions, salt n pepper, maybe some breadcrumbs or even some celery for that crunch texture...however you make it the sauce is perfect. Keep in mind not to make the meatballs too fancy or the sauce may not pair well. I only use the amount called for the cider vinegar and if I don't have that I use regular vinegar but not as much. I mix the sauce to my taste then thicken it with corn starch and water after pouring the sauce over the cooked meatballs. Love this recipe its soo good!! Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I served this appetiser dish to my good friends last night and they raved about it and cleaned the dish out. That always makes a cook happy. It was very easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debrie Holley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This was delicious; not sure what type of cider vinegar I used as it was no longer in the original container. I prepared it according to recipe but after the first serving, I added a tsp. of red pepper flakes to my personal tastes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pembine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Made this tonight and it was a hit! Loved the sauce, perfect balance! Used Apple cider vinegar and it was great (one reviewer said it wasn't the same as cider vinegar). I used my own meatball recipe and baked them in the oven to make it easier. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by collegecook91

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Tullock Yaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Love this recipe! Have made it many times for various occasions, it always goes over well. Rarely do we have leftovers. Much better than the kind made with jelly. Easy to prepare...although I do save time and use frozen meatballs. (just put the meatballs frozen in the mix, put the slower cooker on and stir occasionally). Turns out great everytime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Yummiest sweet and sour sauce !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msjahnez
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Awesome! Doubled mine and just added 2 splashes of white vinegar. I also added 2 cloves of garlic then sauteed it with the onions and some dried oregano and dried basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bacoor, Cavite, Philippines
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States