Sweet and Sour Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2000
This has been a family favorite of ours since I first discovered it here back in 2000. When available, I use the sauce with frozen pre-packaged meatballs and it becomes a quick and easy party snack or super quick dinner served over rice. When I need to make the meatballs by hand, I usually form meat patties instead, to save time. We cook them up like hamburger patties in a skillet or in the oven, and then pour the sauce over and simmer a bit. Microwave works, as does stove top, oven, and crock pot, once the meat is cooked. So versatile, and SO TASTY!!! My whole family loves this. Oh, also, sometimes, I'll double or triple the sauce. It can be kept indefinitely in the fridge. Makes those prepackaged meatballs super-easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tirana, Tirana, Albania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2000
Yum YUM Yum!! My husband and 17 month old son love these tasty little meatballs!! Very easy to make also.. just rolling the meatballs takes a little time. I usually make extra sauce and use it over chicken too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2000
The flavor is excellent and it is a really easy recipe to make. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
My family loved these Sweet and Sour Meatballs. The only changes I made was in adding onion soup mix to the ground beef mixture, for added flavour; and I cooked the meatballs first in the oven on a greased cookie sheet so they wouldn't stick together in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2000
I was intrigued by the easiness of this recipe -- it is easy but on the whole pretty unremarkable. Way too much onion turned my daughter off immediately. Just an okay sort of dish I wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
I found the sauce to bit over-sweet, but my husband requested that I make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
Too much onion! The meatballs didn't stay formed in the skillet, so I ended up with a pot full of sweet and sour ground beef! The appearance of it scared away all my family members, and we're not that picky! Not likely to try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
It would have been easier to bake the meatballs, but this is the best sweet and sour sauce i've ever tasted!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2000
Make meatballs small enough(so you get more!) to serve as a finger food at a cocktail party. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
Very tasty but a little tangy. For those who like sauces with their meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States