Sweet and Sour Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
The sauce makes this recipe ..... the meatballs are dull. Next time I will add some herbs to the meatball recipe. I am disappointed with the high calorie content but sometimes we just have to SPLURGE!! I used ground turkey and Gluten Free bread crumbs. I buy a lot of ground turkey when it goes on sale ..... it's great to have a REAL NICE 'change of pace' recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was ok for me. I made as directed but found the ketchup a little too overpowering in the sauce. However, I liked the meat balls. I made with some white rice and steamed veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I just made this sauce as I already had pre-thawed my frozen meatballs. I followed some of the advice of others. I used 4 TBS of Basalmic Vinegar, used 1/2 cup packed brown sugar and added some pineapple tidbits. We needed something to take to my 8 y.o. granddaughter's Christmas party. My granddaughter loved them and said she was going to tell everyone that her "mommaw is an awesome cook and she made them." They were a hit and all that was left was the empty pan. i will definitely be making more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was great! I made them small for a holiday party and the guests loved them. The meatballs were great plain and the sauce made it even better. I read the other reviews and also made some adjustments...1st I doubled the recipe, but didn't double the vinegar, didn't quite double the seasoned bread crumbs, and didn't double the minced onion. I used apple cider vinegar which is all I could find. I also baked the meatballs. When I made the sauce, I added it all to a large pan on the stove and transferred to a crockpot for serving. I will make them again for sure :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Fantastic recipe! After reading some of the reviews with opinions on vinegar & how sweet it was, I cut back the amount of sugar to two tbsp and used white vinegar. It was fabulous! This really is a 5-star recipe- it's fast, easy, and had rave reviews from my husband and 4yo daughter. I think at one point they were described as "nuggets of deliciousness"... yes, it was that good. Cathy, props to you MIL for this recipe! For a little added heat, my husband and I added a little sriracha sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I found the sauce was too sweet for my liking. I loved the simplicity of it though, especially since I did it in a slow cooker on high for 3 hours. Not much work, which I liked. I might try this again and reduce the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
The first time I made this recipe as written, and it was too sweet. The second time, I substituted plain tomato sauce for the ketchup, and it was pretty close to perfect. Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Loved these! Kept to the ingredients listed but instead of using the method here, i made the meatballs up and put them in a 9x13 pan raw. I heated the sauce ingredients up and poured them over the meatballs and baked them in the oven at 325 for an hour and 15 minutes and they were scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
really easy and delicious! I added red pepper flakes for more spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolekrystyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Excellent recipe! My kid loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States