Sweet and Sour Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I made this recipe as it's written, simply because it's easy to adjust the flavour however you wish. I did find the flavour sweeter than I like (our palates run more on the tangy side) so I added a couple of splashes of lemon. Really cut the sweet down, and really added to the flavour overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Everybody liked it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! It turns out great every time I make it, and I have yet to meet a picky eater who doesn't love it. I do make a few changes though, first of all, I make this with ground turkey instead of ground beef. I use Italian flavored bread crumbs, they are really emphasized as a flavor with the turkey and makes the dish more flavorful. Second, I followed the suggestions of some other people, I use half the amount of vinegar (1/4 cup instead of 1/2) and substitute white vinegar for cider vinegar. Try it! You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Very good; My 7 year likes these; asked for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I love this recipe and have been making it for years. it goes really well with mashed potatoes and peas :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Nice recipe. I used white vinegar after reading a comment that Apple Cider Vinegar was not suitable. I also used Italian seasoned bread crumbs and added a 1/2 tsp of Italian Seasoning to the meat mixture before cooking the meatballs. The sauce was not too strong in vinegar flavour and not too sweet either, all good comments from DH and DS tonight. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cork1035

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I used prepared meatballs but made the sauce pretty much as written (cut down the amounts but kept proportions the same) and really enjoyed it! I really like vinegar-y tastes but my boyfriend does not but we were both happy so I'd say the proportion of vinegar was right on. Will try a little less sugar next time maybe with some hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I thought these were really good. I baked the meatballs at 325 F convection for 15 minutes. When I made the sauce I only used 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar and 2 tsp cornstarch then brought it to a boil. I added the meatballs and then simmered for 20 minutes. Served with brown rice and green beans. Next time I might even use less cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendynik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. My second time making it, and I added coarsely chopped green and yellow bell peppers when browning the meat. I also think 1/2 an onion is plenty - be sure to chop finely or use the food processor. Yummy sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States