Sweet and Sour Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Delicious sauce. I cut the sugar to 3/4c and it was perfect. I used my own meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
For my first try on the sweet and sour meatballs I think I did pretty good, not as good as my gramma but better than some people ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe and definitely has the taste I remember from my childhood. I did make a few changes the second time I made it: I added grated onion and some paprika, garlic powder, and pepper to the meatballs, cut down the sugar and vinegar by about 40% and threw in a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce, a few dashes of hot pepper sauce and a teaspoon of molasses! So all in all it was a departure from the original recipe but I liked it better with the changes. My husband likes it with fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This is very similar to the recipe my mom has made for ages. My adjustments: I chopped half an onion and added 6 cloves of garlic and seasoned bread crumbs to the magic bullet. It came out quite watery from the onion juice. I added it to a mixture of half ground pork and half ground beef. I added some extra breadcrumbs to make the mixture less runny. The meatballs came out really moist and delicious. For the sauce I added a bit less white vinegar like has been mentioned previously. I also replaced a bit of the ketchup with sirracha hot sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dustin Grof
Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
used Rice Krispies cereal (for a lighter texture) instead of bread crumbs and added an extra cup of cereal. Also added a clove of minced garlic. The sauce is pretty good, next time I think I'll add pineapple tidbits and diced bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keely Percival

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Great recipe (made the sauce only), only had white vinegar on hand so based off other reviews cut it in half and turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I loved this! Super easy and pretty quick. I used wine vinegar instead of cider vinegar and it still tasted just like sweet and sour meatballs from a restaurant. I will definitely recommend this to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Very good, my first try at anything Sweet & Sour. I did use seasoned bread crumbs, thanks to a review I read. Used regular white vinegar. Also the only type of 'ground beef' I use is either caribou, musk-ox or moose. My 5 yr. old loved the sauce, but I thought it was a lil on the sweet side, but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
These were awesome! It's so simple and best of all, my kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Great recipe for a sweet and sour sauce! It is sweet but the kids love it. I use white vinegar in place of cider vinegar and usually half all of the ingredients for the sauce as the original recipe makes a lot of sauce, however if your family loves lots of extra sauce then that may be the way to go. Additionally, my family is not a fan of onions so we omit these and also add garlic powder and seasoning salt to the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States