Sweet and Sour Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Delicious sauce. I cut the sugar to 3/4c and it was perfect. I used my own meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
For my first try on the sweet and sour meatballs I think I did pretty good, not as good as my gramma but better than some people ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe and definitely has the taste I remember from my childhood. I did make a few changes the second time I made it: I added grated onion and some paprika, garlic powder, and pepper to the meatballs, cut down the sugar and vinegar by about 40% and threw in a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce, a few dashes of hot pepper sauce and a teaspoon of molasses! So all in all it was a departure from the original recipe but I liked it better with the changes. My husband likes it with fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This is very similar to the recipe my mom has made for ages. My adjustments: I chopped half an onion and added 6 cloves of garlic and seasoned bread crumbs to the magic bullet. It came out quite watery from the onion juice. I added it to a mixture of half ground pork and half ground beef. I added some extra breadcrumbs to make the mixture less runny. The meatballs came out really moist and delicious. For the sauce I added a bit less white vinegar like has been mentioned previously. I also replaced a bit of the ketchup with sirracha hot sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dustin Grof
Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
used Rice Krispies cereal (for a lighter texture) instead of bread crumbs and added an extra cup of cereal. Also added a clove of minced garlic. The sauce is pretty good, next time I think I'll add pineapple tidbits and diced bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keely Percival

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Great recipe (made the sauce only), only had white vinegar on hand so based off other reviews cut it in half and turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I loved this! Super easy and pretty quick. I used wine vinegar instead of cider vinegar and it still tasted just like sweet and sour meatballs from a restaurant. I will definitely recommend this to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Very good, my first try at anything Sweet & Sour. I did use seasoned bread crumbs, thanks to a review I read. Used regular white vinegar. Also the only type of 'ground beef' I use is either caribou, musk-ox or moose. My 5 yr. old loved the sauce, but I thought it was a lil on the sweet side, but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
These were awesome! It's so simple and best of all, my kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Great recipe for a sweet and sour sauce! It is sweet but the kids love it. I use white vinegar in place of cider vinegar and usually half all of the ingredients for the sauce as the original recipe makes a lot of sauce, however if your family loves lots of extra sauce then that may be the way to go. Additionally, my family is not a fan of onions so we omit these and also add garlic powder and seasoning salt to the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States