Sweet and Sour Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I thought these were really good. I baked the meatballs at 325 F convection for 15 minutes. When I made the sauce I only used 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar and 2 tsp cornstarch then brought it to a boil. I added the meatballs and then simmered for 20 minutes. Served with brown rice and green beans. Next time I might even use less cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendynik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. My second time making it, and I added coarsely chopped green and yellow bell peppers when browning the meat. I also think 1/2 an onion is plenty - be sure to chop finely or use the food processor. Yummy sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Was like thick slime..my kids hated it too! Consistency of a lemon pie filling. Not appitizing over rice thats for sure. Wasted good money on organic meat! Do not waste your time and money please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I think the ingredients are to much not a fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This turned out pretty good. Some of the meatballs fell apart and I only used half of the onion. I think it would be good with Broccoli and Pineapple. I added a TBS of worcestershire sauce in place of TBS soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Great meatball recipe - best I've tried and I'm going to play around with it. The sauce was a bit sweet and tart my first time making this, but my husband LOVED it. I'm going to try some of the suggestions from the reviews about the sauce, but I'm sticking with this meatball recipe and may just try with barbeque or other sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
YUMMMMMMM!! I made the sauce from this recipe and it was a HUGE hit!! My meatball recipe was different and about twice the quantity but it was because of the sauce I am sure that we almost ran out of meatballs at dinner! Hurray for a new recipe to add to our family favourites - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
The sauce makes this recipe ..... the meatballs are dull. Next time I will add some herbs to the meatball recipe. I am disappointed with the high calorie content but sometimes we just have to SPLURGE!! I used ground turkey and Gluten Free bread crumbs. I buy a lot of ground turkey when it goes on sale ..... it's great to have a REAL NICE 'change of pace' recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was ok for me. I made as directed but found the ketchup a little too overpowering in the sauce. However, I liked the meat balls. I made with some white rice and steamed veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I just made this sauce as I already had pre-thawed my frozen meatballs. I followed some of the advice of others. I used 4 TBS of Basalmic Vinegar, used 1/2 cup packed brown sugar and added some pineapple tidbits. We needed something to take to my 8 y.o. granddaughter's Christmas party. My granddaughter loved them and said she was going to tell everyone that her "mommaw is an awesome cook and she made them." They were a hit and all that was left was the empty pan. i will definitely be making more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States