Sweet and Sour Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I love this recipe! I made a few changes though. I used rice vinegar instead of cider vinegar. Rice vinegar has a mellow flavor. In addition, I used half sweet Italian sausage and half hamburger. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeaderByNature
Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Very good recipe. I agree with an earlier review, the vinegar was a little strong. Next time I make this I will reduce the vinegar. Otherwise everyone enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busymantis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Very good! Hubby does not normally like this dish, but he enjoyed this! Maybe next time a little more sugar. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I used 2 pounds of gound elk and 1 pound of lean ground beef. My family is picky and they ate them with out complaint. I will definately make them again. I also used Splenda Brown Sugar because my husband is diabetic and it brings down the carbohydrate count.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
these are the best meatballs ever im sure!!! goes realy well with rice,potatoes or even pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA M1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupids, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
These were simple to make and taste very good. I do feel like something was missing from the balls. I added some garlic powder, but it's something else...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This is a great meatball dish! I did however make some changes, I didnt add the milk. I added 2 eggs and a pkg of lipton onion soup mix along with the cup of bread crumbs. For the sauce, I used peach preserves being that was all I had and the chilli sauce with 1 c. ketchup. WoW! Love it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Loved these meatballs. Followed the recipe exactly. The sauce is very tasty. I've been trying different sweet and sour meatball recipes for the last year or so trying to duplicate the flavor of the sauce I had at a banquet. Think this is the one! Don't be alarmed by the overwhelming vinegar smell/taste at first. After you combine the sauce with the meatballs and allow it to bake and reduce it takes on a whole new (delicious!) flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Very good, everyone loved it. I used two pounds of lean ground turkey and one pound extra lean ground beef. Next time I make this I'll cut down on the sugar. It was kind of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mosinee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This is delish! One of my husband's favorites and a hit at parties and the office!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States