Sweet and Sour Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Family taste test - red sauce (grape & chili sauce) vs. your white sauce. Hands down, your white sauce WINS!! Leave the heavy red sauce to the cocktail wieners ... or ... maybe not?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great! Even my 2 & 4 year olds liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Super easy and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I made half the recipe and the only change that I made was I used diced onions instead of the dried ones everything else was as stated. They were good but next time I will cut the sugar down. Thanks for recipe Pam Somers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Little too sweet for me, but my kids loved it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This is my go-to sweet n sour meatball recipe! I follow the recipe almost exactly, except I scale the recipe to 6 servings to use 1 lb ground beef. Fills a 9x13 pan and is perfect for dinner for a family of 5! The only change I make to this recipe is that I use a bit of finely chopped fresh yellow onion in place of onion flakes. Don't worry, the sauce will sound and smell nasty at first but as it bakes with the meatballs the flavor really mellows out into a delicious sauce. I make these with the nutmeg, but I've left it out before and it turned out perfectly fine. Honestly, i cant taste a difference... But i use it anyways! : )These meatballs passed a 6 and a 9 year old, so it has to be good!! ;-) Serve over cooked brown rice for a delicious and hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wentzville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
These were delicious! Here are the changes I made: 1 onion instead of onion flakes, no nutmeg or mustard, homemade breadcrumbs, and for the sauce I put everything in together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Made this tonight. Used a little less sugar as other reviewers suggested, only had vinegar, used Kellogg's boxed corn flake crumbs in place of bread crumbs(son's wheat allergy), and omitted the eggs(kids allergic to them). Turned out great! Was sooo tasty!!!! Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This recipe is very similar to a family recipe we have been making for years. Except we don't have cornstarch and the amount of each ingredient is slightly different. Just a note to others, if you are in a hurry to make, you can use frozen meatballs and a crockpot. We have made it in the oven and crockpot and have used any kind of meatball all with the same taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Loved these...followed recipe to a T....served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSONION

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States