Sweet and Sour Meatballs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
I made this for 250 guests at my daughter's wedding reception. It got rave reviews. I used frozen Costco meatballs but used the sauce recipe.(60 meatballs per batch) Chili sauce was quite expensive, so I substituted 2/3 catsup and 1/3 chili sauce. It tasted the same.(check the ingredients, almost identical) I made them in advance, and froze into gallon ziplock freezer bags. Then just re-heated and they were AWESOME! I have had several phone calls since reqesting the recipe. Thanks for the recipe Tammy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This dish is great! i usually bake the meat balls for 20-30 minues before i put them in to the crock pot .. to illiminate some of the fat... i make it at least once a month.. wonderful served over rice or egg noodles! Its very quick and easy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2001
wow what a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2001
I had these at a Superbowl party and they were a huge hit. I made them for a party over the weekend and they went so fast that people were complaining there weren't more! If you need a really really quick appetizer, make this with store bought meatballs, throw everything in the crock pot and viola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2001
Thank you, thank you, thank you...I used to make this all the time as an appetizer. Goes over real well at pot lucks and tastes great over rice or noodles. I had lost the recipe and it so nice to find it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
Easy. Fast. Good potluck choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
I took these meatballs to a party and everyone was raving about them! The entire dish disappeared very quickly. I would definately make them for another party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
Excellent recipe! I had one years ago, too, but lost it. I do recall I browned the meatballs first before placing them in the slow cooker (to take to party later). That recipe called for a can of jellied cranapples with the chili sauce, cause I remembered thinking "yuk" of the two. It was delicious. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Great recipe, everyone at my party loved them. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
Excellent, delicious meatballs....the whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States