Sweet and Sour Meatballs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
I made this for 250 guests at my daughter's wedding reception. It got rave reviews. I used frozen Costco meatballs but used the sauce recipe.(60 meatballs per batch) Chili sauce was quite expensive, so I substituted 2/3 catsup and 1/3 chili sauce. It tasted the same.(check the ingredients, almost identical) I made them in advance, and froze into gallon ziplock freezer bags. Then just re-heated and they were AWESOME! I have had several phone calls since reqesting the recipe. Thanks for the recipe Tammy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I made this recipe yesterday for a dinner party and it all went!! I have requests to make it for the upcoming Super Bowl and I had to email 5 copies of the recipe to friends. I used Sam's Club frozen meatballs and browned them in a little bit of soy sauce and a can of Dole pineapple chucks w/the syrup. While they were browning, I whisked together the Heinz Chili sauce, Smucker's grape jelly and the lemon juice. After that came to a boil I poured it over the meatballs in the pan and let simmer for 20-30 minutes. They were ready to go after that. I would have followed the crock pot directions but I woke up too late to start it in the crock pot. I think this will be the way I cook them from now on. Hope this is helpful:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Ok have to admit it, despite very few bum steers from this group, I though you people were crazy, chili sauce and jelly? But needed something for office potluck, took in my slow cooker, frozen meatballs and heated them up in the sauce for a few hours then put out with all the other offerings. They were great and the only item that went completely and were raved about! A couple of the guys wanted me to make more and bring them in the next day! 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I thought this was very easy to prepare and tastes good. I gave it only 4 stars because you really need to brown the meatballs in the oven or in a frying pan first. Then they won't crumble in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Try using whole berry cranberry sauce instead of grape jelly, it's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This dish is great! i usually bake the meat balls for 20-30 minues before i put them in to the crock pot .. to illiminate some of the fat... i make it at least once a month.. wonderful served over rice or egg noodles! Its very quick and easy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
It doesn't get much easier than this, and it was very good. I cut the recipe in half because I was only using 1 lb of ground beef. The sauce was quite tangy so I added a little extra grape jelly, as my husband prefers more sweet than sour. He and the kids liked these a lot. For the meatballs, I made my own using 1 lb ground beef, 1 egg, 1/4 c bread crumbs, 3/4 tsp seasoned salt, 1/4 tsp garlic powder and 1 TBS dried onion flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
These were quite good. I used a 2-lb bag of precooked, frozen appetizer meatballs which was very convenient. I occasionally basted the top layer of meatballs to keep them moist since they were above the "sauce line" in the crock pot. Our oldest son especially liked these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
Don't be afraid of the grape jelly! It gives the meatballs an excellent sweetness without tasting like grapes. My 5 year old ate 4 helpings!!! Tastes almost as well with frozen meatballs as with making fresh ones, which is a real time saver when I am in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
Pretty good. My daughter didn't like it, but she doesn't like sweet and sour. The bottle chili sauce can be found in the condiment area. It tastes like thick ketchup. Add 1 small container pineapple. I would mince the onion in a food processor, too. Serve with catonese dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States