Sweet and Sour Meatballs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Save yourself some time and buy pre-made (and pre-cooked) meatballs... we like the ones from WalMart in the freezer section. This was a strange list of ingredients but these babies are addictive. Made them for a Super Bowl party and they vanished! Throw everything in the crockpot and you're good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Have this cooking right now. Smells good but the sauce is soooo sweet. I am adding vinegar, sour salt, and lemon juice. Hope it turns out ok. I have had this before and usually I like it. I had to make more sauce so added some ketchup and sweet Asian chili sauce. That maybe what is what pushed it over the edge with being too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi Barth Maline

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I have made these twice in two weeks for two different party, it was a hit at both. I did the frozen meatballs at Costco and threw in little smokies for the larger party. It turned out wonderful, thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Jakositz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Very good served over rice with the extra sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This recipie is so eay and wonderful. The first time I ever had this, was at a friends house and they used frozen meatballs. I loved the sauce, hated the meatballs. I just do not like the frozen taste. I used this recipe and loved it. The only thing I did differently was to grate the onion into the ground beef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I couldn't wait for 4-5 hours so I cooked a few in the skillet. Very good! I used 1 lb of ground beef and 1 lb of Bob Evans original recipe sausage instead of the 2 lbs of beef. I didn't have chili sauce so I made some using 1 cup of campbells tomato juice, 2 tablespoons vinegar, 1/4 cup brown sugar and about a teaspoon of mixed chili powder and crushed Italian seasonings. I also added maybe an 1/8 of a cup of chinese sweet and sour chili sauce (like what they you for spring rolls) I can't wait for the rest of them to finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Very good! I omit the salt and onion and use a packet of dry onion soup mix instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This recipie was so easy. And it tastes great. I fried the meatballs before I put them in the slow cooker. It made them stay together as I was worried they would fall apart after 5 hours in the slow cooker. I would not cook them anymore than 5 hours though...they were done by that time and too delicious to wait any longer to eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
VERY easy. I made it while at a conference in a hotel. mixed it right in the crock pot 6 hours before the room party. I used one bottle of ketchup, one of chile paste and half a bottle of jelly for my back of 140 meatballs. I used the italian style cuz that's all they had, but plain would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: West Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States