Sweet and Sour Meatballs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Always a crowd pleaser! I use frozen meatballs. The longer the sauce cooks down & meatballs glaze - the better they taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Years ago, my mom made this recipe. Our family absolutely LOVE them. Unfortunately,I had lost her recipe, so I went on line to hunt for it. Here it was!!!! I would HIGHLY recommend these. I am using Ground Turkey instead of Beef (healthier). But otherwise everything is the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
We liked this very much. I made as directed but used frozen meatballs because I had a bag of them in the freezer. I baked them first and heated the sauce in a pan. They only needed about 2 hours in the crock-pot. Served with buttered egg noodles. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I used half jar grape jelly and half apricot preserves (since grape jelly was too sweet) and it was amazing! I also precooked and browned the meatballs first in the oven, then placed them in the crockpot with the jellies and chili sauce. I think this helps the meatballs from crumbling in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I use hot pepper jam instead of grape jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I have been making this recipe for over 30 years, I add a tsp of mustard powder for an extra kick. I have taken it for pot lucks, served it at special dinners and it never fails, its always a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
These are so good!!! I make my own meatball recipe but, love the chili sauce and grape jelly. I do bake my meatballs first which I think is important. Throw them in the crock pot and they are a party favorite every time. I am always asked to bring them to get togethers. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Followed recipe exactly. Turns out delicious everytime!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Pretty good at pot lucks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myoung21

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I have been making this recipe for years and was happy to see it here. I have made it with all types of jelly including, peach, apricot, and fig so use whatever you have on hand. Try and stay away from jellies that have fruit chunks in it though because the sauce never tastes as good for some reason. Anytime I have a potluck to go to this is what I make and it always disappears. We live in North Africa now and I still make them whenever I have the right ingredients. You cannot go wrong with these meatballs they are a winner every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States