Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Love this recipe! Make it all the time and usually there are leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Just made this recipe...it was REALLY good...I did add red pepper, used 1/4cup of regular sugar canned pineapple and my own recipe for meatballs. The sauce is really good. Served over rice and all my roommates loved it; one roommate thought it was to sweet, but that was the only complaint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I whipped this up on the spur of the moment. I already had left over rice so that I wanted to use up so that made it quick for me. Loved it. Just the right sweet, and not overpowering soy sauce. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
It was good but plain. I used brown sugar and a can of pineapples and a dash of worcestershire sauce but it still could use more excitement. I bought frozen chicken meatballs which saved time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andiapple

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I tried this recipe and it was okay. The taste was very good, as I love sweet and sour. I appreciated that it was low in sugar also. But the texture of the meatballs left something to be desired. Even though I cooked them in the liquid, the meat was hard and not very enjoyable to eat. My wife makes wonderful Italian-style meatballs and her trick is to add a cup of plain breadcrumbs to the meat before forming them into balls. I think this would help the texture and the taste and I plan to try that next time. So, five stars on the sauce flavor but only one star on the taste and texture of the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cold Spring, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Wonderful !!!! I made extra sauce, did 2x recipe and my family loved it . Great over white rice. Quick easy recipe . :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Angels Camp, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Very good recipe - my family enjoyed this dish for a change from our usual. I think we will adjust the sauce next time for our personal tastes but the sauce is good as is - very flavourful and excellent with the meatballs. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
great recipe. try it with worsteshire sauce for the sauce it gives it a nice kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I usually hate when ppeople change recipes and then rate them, but I had to make changes for what I had on hand. I used brown sugar instead of Splenda and canned pineapple chunks. Very good served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This has become one of my favorite recipes. I love it! I've tried making it with chicken, but it just tastes better with meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States