Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Love this recipe! Make it all the time and usually there are leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Patrlja

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Just made this recipe...it was REALLY good...I did add red pepper, used 1/4cup of regular sugar canned pineapple and my own recipe for meatballs. The sauce is really good. Served over rice and all my roommates loved it; one roommate thought it was to sweet, but that was the only complaint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I whipped this up on the spur of the moment. I already had left over rice so that I wanted to use up so that made it quick for me. Loved it. Just the right sweet, and not overpowering soy sauce. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
It was good but plain. I used brown sugar and a can of pineapples and a dash of worcestershire sauce but it still could use more excitement. I bought frozen chicken meatballs which saved time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andiapple

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I tried this recipe and it was okay. The taste was very good, as I love sweet and sour. I appreciated that it was low in sugar also. But the texture of the meatballs left something to be desired. Even though I cooked them in the liquid, the meat was hard and not very enjoyable to eat. My wife makes wonderful Italian-style meatballs and her trick is to add a cup of plain breadcrumbs to the meat before forming them into balls. I think this would help the texture and the taste and I plan to try that next time. So, five stars on the sauce flavor but only one star on the taste and texture of the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cold Spring, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Wonderful !!!! I made extra sauce, did 2x recipe and my family loved it . Great over white rice. Quick easy recipe . :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Angels Camp, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Very good recipe - my family enjoyed this dish for a change from our usual. I think we will adjust the sauce next time for our personal tastes but the sauce is good as is - very flavourful and excellent with the meatballs. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
great recipe. try it with worsteshire sauce for the sauce it gives it a nice kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I usually hate when ppeople change recipes and then rate them, but I had to make changes for what I had on hand. I used brown sugar instead of Splenda and canned pineapple chunks. Very good served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This has become one of my favorite recipes. I love it! I've tried making it with chicken, but it just tastes better with meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States