Sweet and Sour Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I would give this 5 stars if it didn't say "crockpot", if you are gonna make this in 30 minutes (one hour is better), use a dutch oven or big skillet, cover, put it on low (not simmer) and you will be in kielbasa heaven, in an hour! I serve this with buttered noodles or rice. If you are using a slow cooker, do it in the morning, put it on low, it will be perfect in 5-6 hrs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
As far as good, easy recipes go, it's hard to top this one - after a few changes. I find the sauce way too sweet as is. I add extra Worcestershire and lemon juice. I also add a few spoonfuls of minced garlic. This recipe makes plenty of sauce for 2 pounds of kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
YUMMY!!! I used about 4 tbs. butter and 2 Tbs. of vinegar instead of the lemon juice. WOW!!! This smelled fantastic. Towards the end, I couldn't help myself and dipped chunks of bread in the sauce. Served over rice and had a salad to go with it. WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I added 2 tsp garlic powder, used only 3 TBSP butter, reduced the ketchup to 1 cup, used 2 TBSP apple cider vinegar in place of lemon juice, for the onions I used 2 slices of a vidalia 1/4 inch thick and spread the rings around the pan, and for the last 10 minutes of cooking time I added carrots (peeled and sliced at an angle to make ovals) and pre-cut broccoli both of which I had already steamed. I served this all over quick cook white rice and it was fantastic! There was a fight for who was getting the leftovers for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Homer, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I found that if you don't have lemon juice, you can substitue with vinegar. 1 teaspoon of lemon juice = 1/2 teaspoon of vinegar. :) Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyLee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
I followed this recipe to a T, and it was just not at all what I expected. The ketchup was too overwhelming and that's just pretty much all I tasted. And the cooking time of thirty minutes in a slow cooker on low, was not enough time. I suggest cooking it for a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I'll give this a 3-1/2 stars. A big, big waste of ketchup. Much, much, too much sauce. Or, another 1 to 2 pounds of kielbasa should be added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I added 2 pounds of sausage instead of the one pound called for as there was more then enough sauce to cover. Very tangy and very good. Sauce is great over mashed potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M Dumas
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Very good! I cooked it on the stove, used less ketchup like someone suggested, but everything else was pretty much the same. My kids loved it-even the picky one! Served over rice. Used two pounds of kielbasa, and still had more than enough sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing this recipe and thank you to all the reviewers for your input! I sliced the kielbasa thinly and fried in a pan with a 1/3 cup of diced green pepper, a half cup of chopped onion and thinly sliced fresh garlic until the veggies were soft. I set this aside and began on the sauce. Following others advice, I used only 1 cup of ketchup, 2 tbsp of butter, omitted the water and added 1 cup of crushed pineapple with the juice. I also added a tbsp. of flour to thicken a bit. When the sauce was done, I added the kielbasa with veggies back in. Oh my! The taste is soooo good. I served on a bed of yellow rice. I was looking for a tasty way of adding zip to my kielbasa. Try this and you won't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States