Sweet and Sour Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This was a great recipe. My husband even loved it and if he likes something you know it is good. I will definitly make this again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I added 2 tsp garlic powder, used only 3 TBSP butter, reduced the ketchup to 1 cup, used 2 TBSP apple cider vinegar in place of lemon juice, for the onions I used 2 slices of a vidalia 1/4 inch thick and spread the rings around the pan, and for the last 10 minutes of cooking time I added carrots (peeled and sliced at an angle to make ovals) and pre-cut broccoli both of which I had already steamed. I served this all over quick cook white rice and it was fantastic! There was a fight for who was getting the leftovers for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Homer, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Made this the other night for myself and the hubby. I served it over white rice and with grilled corn on the cobb. I cut the ketchup amount in half after reading other reviews and it was still extremely saucy/soupy, HOWEVER, the taste was great! It didn't have an overwhelming sweet or sour taste, I thought it was just right. Maybe next time I'll just add another lb of sausage to the mix to take away some of that "soupiness"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Lee Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Big hit at our summer pool party, this was the only thing eaten in its entirety! I did add an extra pound of kielbasa and still had plenty of sauce, probably could have added even more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Thank you for this recipe everyone loved it. The only changes I made were for health reasons. Splenda brown sugar & smart balance for the butter. No children but my fussy 97 yr old mother said, "I'm glad I didn't die before I had that to eat".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
We thought this was very good. I only used 1 cup of ketchup and 2 pounds of kielbasa. Everything else I did exactly as written. I will make this again but next time try ommitting the water and putting in crushed pineapple instead. We ate this as an appetizer but it would be good with rice as a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I made this on the stovetop, but I plan on changing the recipe a little bit to make it a little thicker...It went great with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leahcar717

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This is JUST like a dish I had back when I was 15, and have tried until now to find something that would "match the taste in my mind"! I did this on the stove, simmering for about an hour, and used turkey smoked sausage instead of kielbasa. I also added about 1/2 cup of diced green pepper and an 8 oz can of pineapple chunks (with juice). Served it over rice and it was sooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
nice, quick,, definitely a keeper. My mother in law actually liked this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Tahoe, California, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Wow! This is so sweet and yummy! Not so much sour. Next time maybe I will add a little more lemon juice. I would have given it five stars but the hubby didn't care to much for it but the rest of the family did, my sister even wanted to take the left overs home for lunch.This is definitely a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle El Homsi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States