Sweet and Sour Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Made this the other night for myself and the hubby. I served it over white rice and with grilled corn on the cobb. I cut the ketchup amount in half after reading other reviews and it was still extremely saucy/soupy, HOWEVER, the taste was great! It didn't have an overwhelming sweet or sour taste, I thought it was just right. Maybe next time I'll just add another lb of sausage to the mix to take away some of that "soupiness"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhmyDLM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Big hit at our summer pool party, this was the only thing eaten in its entirety! I did add an extra pound of kielbasa and still had plenty of sauce, probably could have added even more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Thank you for this recipe everyone loved it. The only changes I made were for health reasons. Splenda brown sugar & smart balance for the butter. No children but my fussy 97 yr old mother said, "I'm glad I didn't die before I had that to eat".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
We thought this was very good. I only used 1 cup of ketchup and 2 pounds of kielbasa. Everything else I did exactly as written. I will make this again but next time try ommitting the water and putting in crushed pineapple instead. We ate this as an appetizer but it would be good with rice as a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I made this on the stovetop, but I plan on changing the recipe a little bit to make it a little thicker...It went great with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leahcar717

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This is JUST like a dish I had back when I was 15, and have tried until now to find something that would "match the taste in my mind"! I did this on the stove, simmering for about an hour, and used turkey smoked sausage instead of kielbasa. I also added about 1/2 cup of diced green pepper and an 8 oz can of pineapple chunks (with juice). Served it over rice and it was sooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
nice, quick,, definitely a keeper. My mother in law actually liked this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Tahoe, California, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Wow! This is so sweet and yummy! Not so much sour. Next time maybe I will add a little more lemon juice. I would have given it five stars but the hubby didn't care to much for it but the rest of the family did, my sister even wanted to take the left overs home for lunch.This is definitely a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I hate to not try a recipe as written, but I deviated from this recipe by eliminating the water, lemon juice, and butter. Instead I added a can of pineapple rings and the juice. I cooked it in the crock pot for about 5-6 hours and served with parmesan risotto. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This was a decent meal, with rice cooked in the sauce (added extra water). It's more "sweet" than any "sour." Flavor is okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States