Sweet and Sour Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This was a good recipe for a fast dinner. I read some of the reviews and followed what they said I used 2lbs Kielbasa and soy sauce and I added pineapple also. My 8 year old didn't like the Kielbasa and my boyfriend didn't like the pineapple but they loved the sauce. I thought the sauce was a bit sweet and salty not sour. There was a lot of sauce left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Photo by NorCalRN
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I wouldn't say this was "amazing" for taste, but it was good and very easy to make with ingredients I have on hand. This was a last minute dinner for us and worked out well. I halved the sauce for 1 pound of kielbasa, and this was plenty of sauce! I made the sauce according to the recipe except I used dried minced onion and added some garlic powder. I made this on my stove, brought it all to a boil, added about one tbsp corn starch to thicken it up and voila! Done in about 30 minutes exactly. Served over white rice. Note* my bf said this would be a 5 star meal if it was a teeny less sweet and a little bit spicy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCalRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
My family thought this was awesome!! I do agree with the other reviewers as it does make A LOT of sauce, I used 2 lbs of Kielbasa, I also added a bit of minced garlic as another reviewer suggested. Great & Simple, I used the stove not slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
this was amazing for how easy it was. i am adding this to the rotation. i added some green pepper, cooked on high for 3 hrs, and served it over rice. next time i will try it w/ buttered egg noodles(didnt have any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I use two pounds of sausage, and served it over rice. My whole family liked it, even my very picky 5 year old. I'll keep this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I cut the servings back to 3 but still used 1 pound of kielbasa. It was still more than enough sauce, everyone liked it. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This sauce definitely is sweet and sour. I halved the sauce and still put in 1 pound of keilbasa. I also left out the brown sugar and added in some garlic. I prepared everything the night before then simmered on the stove for an hour when I got home. Served over rice. I was so so on it--but keilbasa isn't my favorite. Bf liked it a lot. Bf said I gave him too much sauce but he ate it all minus a bit of the sauce. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Excellent recipe! The only thing I did was to cut down a little on the ketchup (based on prior reviews) and it turned out perfect. I cooked a little longer in the crock pot and the meat was so tender. Served with brown rice & a tossed salad. Will definately make again, maybe next time will try meatballs and kielbasa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Pratt
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I have never rated a recipe so low but I'm sorry - this was awful. Just like eating ketchup and I love ketchup but this went way too far. What a waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This recipe is a keeper! I didn't have much ketchup left, so I only wound up using about 3/4 of a cup, but it turned out to be the perfect amount. Instead of using a crock pot, we just simmered them covered in a sauteing pan for about a half an hour. I served them over rice with chopped carrots and broccoli. It was absolutely delicious, and I will be making this again often, keeping the ketchup at 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rceklarc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States