Sweet and Sour Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I just made this for a potluck at work and I was given several compliments and these aren't guys who are known for their complimenting. The general consensus was "these are awesome" "can I have the recipe". To me they were just okay. I made 1 1/2 times the sauce and put in 3 kielbasas. There was more than enough sauce for at least 4. I simmered everything on top of the stove until the onions were tender and used the crockpot to keep it warm. Next time I think I'll start out with less water and add as needed. It was pretty soupy. I served them without pasta or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This just tastes like hotdogs with ketchup. Not a meal.. but maybe an appetizer.. So in an effort to save this (so my husband would eat it, I dumped out part of the sauce and added a can of beer and boiled the sausage for about 30 min. It has a much better flavor now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
exactly what I was looking for. I did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Far too sweet (and I LOVE sweet things) and makes way too much sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Tasty! We ate it with buttered noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was really good. I served it on top of rice. Instead of two cups of ketchup, I only added one and then added three bay leaves, some rice vinegar (just a splash), sliced garlic and more worcestshire. I also browned the kielbasa before putting in the cooker and then cooked it for an hour and a half. It was heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet's girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This was a good recipe for a fast dinner. I read some of the reviews and followed what they said I used 2lbs Kielbasa and soy sauce and I added pineapple also. My 8 year old didn't like the Kielbasa and my boyfriend didn't like the pineapple but they loved the sauce. I thought the sauce was a bit sweet and salty not sour. There was a lot of sauce left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Photo by NorCalRN
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I wouldn't say this was "amazing" for taste, but it was good and very easy to make with ingredients I have on hand. This was a last minute dinner for us and worked out well. I halved the sauce for 1 pound of kielbasa, and this was plenty of sauce! I made the sauce according to the recipe except I used dried minced onion and added some garlic powder. I made this on my stove, brought it all to a boil, added about one tbsp corn starch to thicken it up and voila! Done in about 30 minutes exactly. Served over white rice. Note* my bf said this would be a 5 star meal if it was a teeny less sweet and a little bit spicy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCalRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
My family thought this was awesome!! I do agree with the other reviewers as it does make A LOT of sauce, I used 2 lbs of Kielbasa, I also added a bit of minced garlic as another reviewer suggested. Great & Simple, I used the stove not slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States