Sweet and Sour Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I just cooked this for supper. I've been waiting for the perfect chance to give it a try. I made the recipe exactly as is. The sauce was so excessively sweet, it was difficult to eat more than a few bites. Keep in mind that I LOVE anything sweet. I love ketchup (I put ketchup on everything!). I love brown sugar. This was just far sweeter than is necessary. IF (BIG IF) I were to make it again, I would cut the ketchup and brown sugar in half, and even then I just don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I tried this recipe, okay..too many ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manchester, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe, though I made a few minor tweaks. I tried it once before and got horrible results, since I did as directed and put WAY too much ketchup. I usually try to do a recipe to the T before I mess with it, but the first time it was just overpowering. This is what I did this time: I fried an onion on the stove first in a little butter. Then I tossed the kielbasa in there, adding a bit of brown sugar to it as well. It coated it in a crunchy, sweet coating. Then, I added about a fourth cup ketchup and a half lemon into the crock pot, along with a pinch of salt. Then I did the rest as the recipe said. It was so much better this way, I really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Definitely half the ketchup. I also added pineapple juice to sweeten a little and 2 tbsp flour to thicken the sauce. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing this recipe and thank you to all the reviewers for your input! I sliced the kielbasa thinly and fried in a pan with a 1/3 cup of diced green pepper, a half cup of chopped onion and thinly sliced fresh garlic until the veggies were soft. I set this aside and began on the sauce. Following others advice, I used only 1 cup of ketchup, 2 tbsp of butter, omitted the water and added 1 cup of crushed pineapple with the juice. I also added a tbsp. of flour to thicken a bit. When the sauce was done, I added the kielbasa with veggies back in. Oh my! The taste is soooo good. I served on a bed of yellow rice. I was looking for a tasty way of adding zip to my kielbasa. Try this and you won't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I used the base recipe, and added more Worcestershire, a teaspoon of minced garlic, and the crowning touch, a tablespoon of Sriracha hot chili sauce. I also put in 2 lbs of kielbasa and had plenty of sauce left over. My husband poured some out into a bowl and used it as a dipping sauce for the rolls we had with dinner. Yummy! This one's a keeper in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
WONDERFUL!! I used a spicy Kielbasa which was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
this is a great recipe! Try cooking it longer and you can also use your favorite frozen meat balls. In general its the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was great! I just made and ate this! Easy to make! We ate it over egg noodles. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States