Sweet and Sour Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
My family thought this was awesome!! I do agree with the other reviewers as it does make A LOT of sauce, I used 2 lbs of Kielbasa, I also added a bit of minced garlic as another reviewer suggested. Great & Simple, I used the stove not slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
this was amazing for how easy it was. i am adding this to the rotation. i added some green pepper, cooked on high for 3 hrs, and served it over rice. next time i will try it w/ buttered egg noodles(didnt have any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I use two pounds of sausage, and served it over rice. My whole family liked it, even my very picky 5 year old. I'll keep this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I cut the servings back to 3 but still used 1 pound of kielbasa. It was still more than enough sauce, everyone liked it. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This sauce definitely is sweet and sour. I halved the sauce and still put in 1 pound of keilbasa. I also left out the brown sugar and added in some garlic. I prepared everything the night before then simmered on the stove for an hour when I got home. Served over rice. I was so so on it--but keilbasa isn't my favorite. Bf liked it a lot. Bf said I gave him too much sauce but he ate it all minus a bit of the sauce. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Excellent recipe! The only thing I did was to cut down a little on the ketchup (based on prior reviews) and it turned out perfect. I cooked a little longer in the crock pot and the meat was so tender. Served with brown rice & a tossed salad. Will definately make again, maybe next time will try meatballs and kielbasa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Pratt
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I have never rated a recipe so low but I'm sorry - this was awful. Just like eating ketchup and I love ketchup but this went way too far. What a waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This recipe is a keeper! I didn't have much ketchup left, so I only wound up using about 3/4 of a cup, but it turned out to be the perfect amount. Instead of using a crock pot, we just simmered them covered in a sauteing pan for about a half an hour. I served them over rice with chopped carrots and broccoli. It was absolutely delicious, and I will be making this again often, keeping the ketchup at 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rceklarc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This was very easy to prepare and very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Brown LaChance

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I added a green pepper and simmered on the stove for 30 minutes instead of a crock pot. I can't see how it would be ready so quickly in a crock pot anyways. I also reduced the butter to 3tbs. Next time I think I will omit it altogether or at least cut it down to one tbs. Its packed with flavor and all the butter seems to do is add fat and calories. Perfect served over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States