Sweet and Sour Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I just cooked this for supper. I've been waiting for the perfect chance to give it a try. I made the recipe exactly as is. The sauce was so excessively sweet, it was difficult to eat more than a few bites. Keep in mind that I LOVE anything sweet. I love ketchup (I put ketchup on everything!). I love brown sugar. This was just far sweeter than is necessary. IF (BIG IF) I were to make it again, I would cut the ketchup and brown sugar in half, and even then I just don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I tried this recipe, okay..too many ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manchester, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe, though I made a few minor tweaks. I tried it once before and got horrible results, since I did as directed and put WAY too much ketchup. I usually try to do a recipe to the T before I mess with it, but the first time it was just overpowering. This is what I did this time: I fried an onion on the stove first in a little butter. Then I tossed the kielbasa in there, adding a bit of brown sugar to it as well. It coated it in a crunchy, sweet coating. Then, I added about a fourth cup ketchup and a half lemon into the crock pot, along with a pinch of salt. Then I did the rest as the recipe said. It was so much better this way, I really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Definitely half the ketchup. I also added pineapple juice to sweeten a little and 2 tbsp flour to thicken the sauce. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing this recipe and thank you to all the reviewers for your input! I sliced the kielbasa thinly and fried in a pan with a 1/3 cup of diced green pepper, a half cup of chopped onion and thinly sliced fresh garlic until the veggies were soft. I set this aside and began on the sauce. Following others advice, I used only 1 cup of ketchup, 2 tbsp of butter, omitted the water and added 1 cup of crushed pineapple with the juice. I also added a tbsp. of flour to thicken a bit. When the sauce was done, I added the kielbasa with veggies back in. Oh my! The taste is soooo good. I served on a bed of yellow rice. I was looking for a tasty way of adding zip to my kielbasa. Try this and you won't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I used the base recipe, and added more Worcestershire, a teaspoon of minced garlic, and the crowning touch, a tablespoon of Sriracha hot chili sauce. I also put in 2 lbs of kielbasa and had plenty of sauce left over. My husband poured some out into a bowl and used it as a dipping sauce for the rolls we had with dinner. Yummy! This one's a keeper in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
WONDERFUL!! I used a spicy Kielbasa which was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
this is a great recipe! Try cooking it longer and you can also use your favorite frozen meat balls. In general its the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was great! I just made and ate this! Easy to make! We ate it over egg noodles. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States