Sweet and Sour Jam - Not Just for Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
We love this recipe for an easy meal. We followed the recipe (x4). At the end of the afternoon,our home smells wounderful. The 2 alteration: a)adding worcestershire sauce to taste for depth, before the pection/sugar. b)Even though we (x4) the batch we only used a 1tbsp of minced jalepeno peppers. It turns out to be mild enough for our younger family members. In the end we ended up with 3-1Liters & 9-500mls canning jars. Hint* to ratio: 1/2 pint = 1cup =250mls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This was an amazing jam recipe. I couldn't believe it when I was canning it. This recipe was a food blog competition. Sort of like an Iron Chef from amother foodie website. The idea was to create a recipe with 2 star ingredients, then blog about it. Then others would vote on "would they make it" Well this was the result of a 2nd attempt. I was going for a spin on a citrus glaze for baked/grilled fish. The 2 ingredients were apricots and shallots. When I put it all together it had an amazing zing of flavors. And one that I couldn't believe was in comparasion to Sweet & Sour glaze from many of a fine chinese resturant I have ever eaten at....shocked and thrilled I couldn't wait to share with others. I have made nnumberous batches for friends and families in a small time frame since coming up with this recipe. Hope everyone else enjoys as much as we have. Note: 2 half pint jars can utilize 1 bag of frozen meatballs as well as 1 bag of popcorn chicken in the freezer section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Excellent recipe. We use it on chicken drumettes off the grill. Need to make more next time. Does anyone know if I can double the recipe and still get this to firm up?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This is soooo incredibly good! I didn't make it myself -- my best friend canned this (using peaches) and sent me a few jars. I served them with baked chicken nuggets. I did find I had to cut the jam with rice wine vinegar to get it a bit thinner and a touch less sweet, but I'm sure that just depends on what you're using it for. This is absolutely fantastic, the only thing that could possibly improve it would be some heat :) Thanks for the recipe, mis7up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I have "tons" of ripe Apriums and thought I would give this recipe a try. We think it's fabulous, but could use a little more "heat" for our taste. Also, next batch I'll thinly slice the shallots and then quarter the slices. I didn't like the way they appeared "stringy" when ladling the jam into the jars. After filling all the jars I couldn't wait to lick the spoon, LOL. I can't wait to try this on either the chicken or meatballs. Thanks for such a creative recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I love this stuff! I canned the jam a few weeks ago and finally used it this weekend. My husband said it could use a little more heat, but I thought it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ruskin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Just finished canning a batch of this and it's amazing. I was determined to get it made this weekend, and of course I couldn't find fresh apricots, so I substituted pluots and the store had no habanero peppers, so I used jalapeno and a couple pinches of crushed red pepper. Have some in a bowl cooling in the fridge to put on cream cheese. Thanks for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
What a great reciepe, everyone I've shared this with is hooked, whether its spread over cream cheese and eaten with crackers or on salmon and chicken, its a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Made exactly to recipe, (except no cilantro). And made 1 1/2 batches w/ only 1 package pectin so it is more of a sauce and less of a jam. Used it last night as a glaze for cut-up, pork chops; also served some on the side for cooked carrots/squash and for the rice. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Will make this recipe over and over. My kids loved it, and we even shared some jars with neighbours who now think I am the MASTER of canning! :-) I did do one recipe with the addition of 1 Cup sweet cherries, cut and pitted, and upped the pineapple to 1Cup. I felt safe doing that as both additions are acidic. Please remember when canning, that acidity levels are crucial to safety, so it is dangerous to change recipes meant for canning. In any event, the addition was perfect. I have cut, measured and frozen Apricots and Cherries which are seasonal items here in S. Ontario, and put them in freezer bags to keep for off season preparation of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States