Sweet and Sour Jam - Not Just for Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
Love this. Did NOT change a thing. I served this over my customized recipe for Savory Blue Cheese Cake (Baking Nana) with crackers. Absolutely delish!!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
I omit the cilantro and add another habenaro or two. We like it sweet sour and spicy. I get rave reviews from everyone I have shared it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Came across this recipe looking for a mango, pineapple, habanero jam. Replaced the apricots in the recipe with frozen mango and my family loved it. Hubby needed more he as t so the second batch I made I added another habanero. Definitely has the heat he wanted. Awesome over cream cheese with crackers also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jananna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Thanks for sharing. This is fantastic. I'm making a second batch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penni73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
The perfect compliment to all sorts of meats, and great on a fruit salad, Samosas, egg rolls, and cheeze n crackers. We've even had this on Goat - yes goat. We like more heat so I've added 2 Jalapenos, 2 Habaneros, 1/2 C chopped cilantro. My experiment with tripling the recipie was a very loose set. I've made this with peaches, in a pinch canned crushed pineapple (well drained) and I omit the brown sugar. MMMmmmmmm the house still smells great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrystine Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
My mom's been looking for a company she got a peach jalapeno jam from for years and one taste of this and she more than happy to have me make this recipe instead. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I loved this recipe. So easy to make and delicious. Trying it with peaches also. Did not add all of the sugar only 4 cups and still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Osoyoos, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Very good but little too sweet for my taste. Probably cut with a little rice vinegar as a previous poster had suggested and use for sweet and sour chicken. Mine didn't set and was syrupy but okay for a chicken glaze or over cream cheese with crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Just finished canning a batch of this and it's amazing. I was determined to get it made this weekend, and of course I couldn't find fresh apricots, so I substituted pluots and the store had no habanero peppers, so I used jalapeno and a couple pinches of crushed red pepper. Have some in a bowl cooling in the fridge to put on cream cheese. Thanks for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Hepler

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Will make this recipe over and over. My kids loved it, and we even shared some jars with neighbours who now think I am the MASTER of canning! :-) I did do one recipe with the addition of 1 Cup sweet cherries, cut and pitted, and upped the pineapple to 1Cup. I felt safe doing that as both additions are acidic. Please remember when canning, that acidity levels are crucial to safety, so it is dangerous to change recipes meant for canning. In any event, the addition was perfect. I have cut, measured and frozen Apricots and Cherries which are seasonal items here in S. Ontario, and put them in freezer bags to keep for off season preparation of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States