Sweet and Sour Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
I loved these. I used fresh beans and boiled them and saved water for the recipe as called for. Was tasty and I love to find a good side dish since I always can pick a good main course but always seem to stumble with what to prepare with it. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Great!!!! A favorite. Made a few changes. Used frozen green beans because I hate the canned taste. Used balsamic vinegar insted of apple cider vinegar and added some white wine. also since im an ex-smoker(after 17 years) I need alitle more seasonings for my taste so I used Seasoned salt and a few dashes of garlic powder. AWSOME This has become a much requested family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJBEN2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Manchester, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
These were sooooo good! Between the salt in the bacon and in the canned green beans, I eliminated the tsp. from the recipe. Other than that, I didn't change a thing and we all agreed that this was a very tasty side that I will certainly make again. Thanks Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I love these beans! I use a very similar recipe, although it has a scant cup of sugar and no salt and pepper. After cooking the liquid until thickened, I add the green beans and sprinkle bacon on top, then bake at 350 until it is bubbly. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Marion, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
MMMMM! I used frozen green beans instead of canned. If you like that sweet and sour flavor you will love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savanah Orlando

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sublette, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
WOW - this was wonderful!! I used blanched and frozen green beans from last year's garden and tossed in a tomato and some sliced mushrooms that needed to be eaten. What a great way to eat green beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Great recipe!! This is my favorite green bean recipe. For a short-cut, you can buy S&W Dilled Green Beans, just add bacon and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCULVER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Nice flavor, definitely spot on. I accidentally added 2 tbsp flour, but thinned out with a little water after I uploaded the picture (the sauce won't be as thick as it appears on the photo). Quick side dish using canned veggies, reminiscent of old-fashioned down-home green beans. Really good weeknight dish. UPDATE 1-30-12 Made these again tonight. Talk about the great imposter...who would know these came out of a can??? Just really like this side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I used a bit of honey instead of sugar. Left out the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
LOVE these! I am always looking for a way to spice up green beans because my husband will only eat them if they have plenty of flavor. Added some garlic and a pinch of Italian seasoning. Also used balsamic vinegar since I had it in the pantry, and used brown sugar because I thought it lends itself to the smoky taste of the bacon and the flavor of this dish. It was DELICIOUS! My new favorite green bean recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States