Sweet and Sour Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
These were sooooo good! Between the salt in the bacon and in the canned green beans, I eliminated the tsp. from the recipe. Other than that, I didn't change a thing and we all agreed that this was a very tasty side that I will certainly make again. Thanks Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
I loved these. I used fresh beans and boiled them and saved water for the recipe as called for. Was tasty and I love to find a good side dish since I always can pick a good main course but always seem to stumble with what to prepare with it. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
Good. Reminded me of German Potato Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
Tastes very similar to the beans my German mother would make. I added a little more vinegar because I am used to the beans being more tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Yum, this is a great recipe. My entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KENNEDY5976

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Great!!!! A favorite. Made a few changes. Used frozen green beans because I hate the canned taste. Used balsamic vinegar insted of apple cider vinegar and added some white wine. also since im an ex-smoker(after 17 years) I need alitle more seasonings for my taste so I used Seasoned salt and a few dashes of garlic powder. AWSOME This has become a much requested family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJBEN2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Manchester, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
I used feeze Green bean. OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
Very good green beans...gonna make this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mannington, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
Great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Excellent! I have a variation of these every year for Christmas Dinner, and they didn't last long today. This version is a keeper. My hubby wonders why we don't have these more often (me too). The only change I made was no additional salt (I figured the bacon had enough) and a dash of Accent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVINGNOZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States