Sweet and Sour Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Much better than I thought. I used some textured vegetable protein instead of bacon and fresh beans! Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
My husband loves anything with vinegar and he loved this. It was a great way to jazz up canned green beans. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I used the balsamic vinegar and white cooking wine as suggested and it was delicious! I also used frozen green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Awesome recipe!! I made this tonight, but used precooked bacon, it worked out fine. Quick and easy. Delicious! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
These beans were good, but wasn't the recipe I was looking for. The sauce reminded me alot of german potato salad. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbieLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This was a great side dish for ham and pineapple casserole dinner recipes also found on this website. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I followed the recipe and enjoyed the green beans. May try frozen or fresh next time. I didn't find it too salty. Glad to have another recipe for a green vegetable. Getting tired of same old, same old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
If you like warm German potato salad, you will probably like this, since it shares a similar flavor profile. I used frozen green beans, because I don't enjoy the texture of canned. I used chicken broth instead of the can juices. I also cooked the bacon bits ahead of time. Then, i cooked one slice of bacon with the onion (for the sake of flavor) and continued with the recipe as stated. I just don't like soggy bacon bits. I also trim most of the fat with kitchen shears, and then cut them into bits and then cook them. It's good with pot roasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I love these beans! I use a very similar recipe, although it has a scant cup of sugar and no salt and pepper. After cooking the liquid until thickened, I add the green beans and sprinkle bacon on top, then bake at 350 until it is bubbly. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Marion, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
MMMMM! I used frozen green beans instead of canned. If you like that sweet and sour flavor you will love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savanah Orlando

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sublette, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pratt, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States