Sweet and Sour Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Much better than I thought. I used some textured vegetable protein instead of bacon and fresh beans! Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
My husband loves anything with vinegar and he loved this. It was a great way to jazz up canned green beans. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I used the balsamic vinegar and white cooking wine as suggested and it was delicious! I also used frozen green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Awesome recipe!! I made this tonight, but used precooked bacon, it worked out fine. Quick and easy. Delicious! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
These beans were good, but wasn't the recipe I was looking for. The sauce reminded me alot of german potato salad. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbieLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This was a great side dish for ham and pineapple casserole dinner recipes also found on this website. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I followed the recipe and enjoyed the green beans. May try frozen or fresh next time. I didn't find it too salty. Glad to have another recipe for a green vegetable. Getting tired of same old, same old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
If you like warm German potato salad, you will probably like this, since it shares a similar flavor profile. I used frozen green beans, because I don't enjoy the texture of canned. I used chicken broth instead of the can juices. I also cooked the bacon bits ahead of time. Then, i cooked one slice of bacon with the onion (for the sake of flavor) and continued with the recipe as stated. I just don't like soggy bacon bits. I also trim most of the fat with kitchen shears, and then cut them into bits and then cook them. It's good with pot roasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I love these beans! I use a very similar recipe, although it has a scant cup of sugar and no salt and pepper. After cooking the liquid until thickened, I add the green beans and sprinkle bacon on top, then bake at 350 until it is bubbly. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Marion, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
MMMMM! I used frozen green beans instead of canned. If you like that sweet and sour flavor you will love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sublette, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pratt, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States