Sweet and Sour Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This was good. I doubled the recipe, however, only used one can of the pineapple but the juice from two cans. The sauce still seemed a little chunky, so I removed a little more than half of the pineapple and whirled it through the food processor and added it back in. I omitted the flour and used corn starch instead as I wanted the sauce to have a more glazed look. I also made my own beer batter for the fish. Everyone enjoyed this very much. Thanks Anna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Was a little leary about sweet and sour fish but this recipe sounded good so i tried it.My family loved it.Not to sweet so it was good with the fish.I used basa fillets which are very bland and the soya sauce made it taste great.Will do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Ecellent recipe. I was looking for something different than the same chicken, pork or shrimp sweet sour. It was very easy to make. We love this and will be repeated again! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Doubled the recipe. Instead of using 1 tbsp soy sauce for the batter, I used 0.5 tbsp water, 0.5 soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
We really loved this recipe. Very delicious! Next time I will put a bit more fish in. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Had to use a couple flounder fillets which I cut into 1 and 11/2 inch bite size peices. Seasoned peices with salt, pepper, and floured them lightly and sauted in 2 Tbs. hot oil. Added chopped bell pepper and onion in bite size peices and the pineapple chunks. Added reserved pineapple juice to soy sauce, sugar, ketchup, 1 tablespoon rice vinegar instead of water and only 1/2 teaspoon sesame oil. The flour dredged fish pieces thickened the sauce perfectly without using the flour in the liquid mixture. Poured sauce over fish in last seconds of saute and served over Chinese style sticky rice. Whoa. Hubby wanted to know why I hadn't made this before! Flavor was excellent, super easy and on hand ingredients made this a real winner. We look forward to having this again. Thank you for sharing! ***My 2nd time with this. Replaced flour with cornstarch and proceeded as with first time. Really, Really good served over hot sticky rice. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
loved it!! i've never made sweet and sour anything but this was so easy to make and i had all the ingredients on hand! instead of frying the fish in oil, after i marinated it, i pan-dried in just a tablespoon or so of olive oil--heat on med high. the sauce was a bit chunky but if you want less chunks, i suppose you could puree it. i just broke up the pineapple chunks with a wooden spoon. my husband asked for more so i'm thinking this was 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This was just OK for us. A good way to get the family eating fish but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
this was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I haven't used this site for a long time but came back especially to look for this recipe. I made it a couple of years ago for my in-laws who really enjoyed it. I couldn't get halibut and made it with nile perch instead - everyone enjoyed it here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States