Sweet and Sour Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
love it very easy and delicious instead of fish i used chicken breast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Wonderful recipe. I used the tips provided by southerngma and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Had to use a couple flounder fillets which I cut into 1 and 11/2 inch bite size peices. Seasoned peices with salt, pepper, and floured them lightly and sauted in 2 Tbs. hot oil. Added chopped bell pepper and onion in bite size peices and the pineapple chunks. Added reserved pineapple juice to soy sauce, sugar, ketchup, 1 tablespoon rice vinegar instead of water and only 1/2 teaspoon sesame oil. The flour dredged fish pieces thickened the sauce perfectly without using the flour in the liquid mixture. Poured sauce over fish in last seconds of saute and served over Chinese style sticky rice. Whoa. Hubby wanted to know why I hadn't made this before! Flavor was excellent, super easy and on hand ingredients made this a real winner. We look forward to having this again. Thank you for sharing! ***My 2nd time with this. Replaced flour with cornstarch and proceeded as with first time. Really, Really good served over hot sticky rice. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Doubled the recipe. Instead of using 1 tbsp soy sauce for the batter, I used 0.5 tbsp water, 0.5 soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
loved it!! i've never made sweet and sour anything but this was so easy to make and i had all the ingredients on hand! instead of frying the fish in oil, after i marinated it, i pan-dried in just a tablespoon or so of olive oil--heat on med high. the sauce was a bit chunky but if you want less chunks, i suppose you could puree it. i just broke up the pineapple chunks with a wooden spoon. my husband asked for more so i'm thinking this was 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I really liked this recipe. Instead of halibut, I used swai and it was still good, and a bit cheaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
We enjoyed this. The next time I will try with grilled fish to reduce the fat. We used Ling Cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reuben Cowell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This was just OK for us. A good way to get the family eating fish but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
this was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Was a little leary about sweet and sour fish but this recipe sounded good so i tried it.My family loved it.Not to sweet so it was good with the fish.I used basa fillets which are very bland and the soya sauce made it taste great.Will do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States