Sweet and Sour Faux Meat Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
this recipe is amazing!!! made the meatballs last night for dinner. I didn't have any basil so I used Italian seasonings which was delicious. For the sauce I also used some honey along with the apricot and ketchup. This meatball recipe has now become the ONLY one I will use!. Next time I make them I'm going to go meatball sub and toss them into a really hood homemade marinara sauce! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I did not care for this recipe! I would have rated it 0 star if the site would allow. I followed the recipe exactly. The sauce tasted like ketchup and the meat balls were dry and tasteless. I will NEVER make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This sauce was OK... I used it on regular frozen "meat" balls but it was too tart. I would add sugar or reduce the amount of vinegar to improve the flavor. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I used meat. The sauce was the best. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
The meatballs are pretty good for other purposes (like spaghetti & meatballs), but we really didn't think they went with this sauce very well at all. I'd give the meatballs 4 stars but the combination of the meatballs & sauce only 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I did not care for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Edible, but I don't think it's a keeper. Had too much of a bready flavor, so if I were to do it again, I would probably cut down on the bread crumbs. The sauce was really good though. I think I will use that again with regular meatballs. In spite of being vegetarian, DO NOT mistake this for being healthy. I got 18 meatballs using a 2 tbsp scoop out of this recipe. Once I added up JUST the caloric stuff, that worked out to 205 calories per meatball. Yikes! BTW: this is the same recipe as Vegetarian Sweet and Sour Meatballs except with one more egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heliftsmeup
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Easy and quick to make. Very yummy and filllng. Made with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heliftsmeup

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
My family loved these. I used fat free cheddar and cottage cheese. Really good, but the texture is more like stuffing than a real meatball. We had these with mashed potatoes and a vegetable for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I did not make the sweet and sour sauce. I baked the 'meat' balls with a little olive oil and later added them to pasta sauce. They were fantastic. I have another batch in the oven right now, however, this time I have added carrot and celery and I am hoping they will turn out like faux rissoles. I can not recommend this recipe enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States