Sweet and Sour Faux Meat Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
These appetizers really have a meaty texture and a wonderful taste. Non-vegetarians may not even realize that they're not made of meat! And for vegetarians, it's a refreshing and delicious alternative to soy-based meat substitutes. If you want them to taste more "sausagey" try doubling the amount of sage and add a hearty dash of dried basil. When I made this recipe for a holiday party, I coated a pan with non-stick spray, put the meatballs on it without the sauce, and baked for 30 minutes at 325 degrees F, in order to brown and firm them up nicely. Then I tossed them into a crockpot and covered them in homemade barbecue sauce (there are several fine recipes on this website). DELICIOUS party appetizer! I'll also consider making them in a white sauce and serving them over egg noodles, a la Swedish "meatballs". Thank you, Janet, for posting this recipe! It's definitely on my "keeper" list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieHansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: May 18, 2005
This recipe makes a lot but it was so tasty that we didn't have any problems finishing them. A great alternative to greasy real meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
These are the best "fake" meatballs I have ever tasted. It was almost scary how much they looked and tasted like "real" meatballs. I had to keep reminding myself that I had not actually put any hamburger into the recipe! The sweet and sour sauce was very good, too. I also plan to make the meatballs again with Italian seasonings and parmesan cheese and use them in spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heliftsmeup
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Easy and quick to make. Very yummy and filllng. Made with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heliftsmeup

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
The meatballs are pretty good for other purposes (like spaghetti & meatballs), but we really didn't think they went with this sauce very well at all. I'd give the meatballs 4 stars but the combination of the meatballs & sauce only 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Edible, but I don't think it's a keeper. Had too much of a bready flavor, so if I were to do it again, I would probably cut down on the bread crumbs. The sauce was really good though. I think I will use that again with regular meatballs. In spite of being vegetarian, DO NOT mistake this for being healthy. I got 18 meatballs using a 2 tbsp scoop out of this recipe. Once I added up JUST the caloric stuff, that worked out to 205 calories per meatball. Yikes! BTW: this is the same recipe as Vegetarian Sweet and Sour Meatballs except with one more egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
My family loved these. I used fat free cheddar and cottage cheese. Really good, but the texture is more like stuffing than a real meatball. We had these with mashed potatoes and a vegetable for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This sauce was OK... I used it on regular frozen "meat" balls but it was too tart. I would add sugar or reduce the amount of vinegar to improve the flavor. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
I didn't use the sauce do I cannot comment on that but the "balls" were good. I omitted the sage as my husband isn't a fan and I used half the cheddar and half mozza cheese. I also added lots of garlic and used walnuts instead of pecans. They turned out tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I did not care for this recipe! I would have rated it 0 star if the site would allow. I followed the recipe exactly. The sauce tasted like ketchup and the meat balls were dry and tasteless. I will NEVER make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States