Sweet and Sour Faux Meat Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
These are the best "fake" meatballs I have ever tasted. It was almost scary how much they looked and tasted like "real" meatballs. I had to keep reminding myself that I had not actually put any hamburger into the recipe! The sweet and sour sauce was very good, too. I also plan to make the meatballs again with Italian seasonings and parmesan cheese and use them in spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2000
Good texture, holds together well. I think I will try a savory sauce next time, it was too sweet & rich for me. I will also substitute egg beaters for the eggs & use lowfat cheeses. I think it would be good served over the top of boiled fresh green beens or carrots. I froze the leftovers and will use for future creations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
This was a great recipe. Easy and tasty. It's a little high in the fat, I am going to tweak it to see how low fat I can make it with out giving up the taste. Next time I will use a food processor to grind the nuts better. My 18month old threw some on the floor and the dog gives it 5 bones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
These appetizers really have a meaty texture and a wonderful taste. Non-vegetarians may not even realize that they're not made of meat! And for vegetarians, it's a refreshing and delicious alternative to soy-based meat substitutes. If you want them to taste more "sausagey" try doubling the amount of sage and add a hearty dash of dried basil. When I made this recipe for a holiday party, I coated a pan with non-stick spray, put the meatballs on it without the sauce, and baked for 30 minutes at 325 degrees F, in order to brown and firm them up nicely. Then I tossed them into a crockpot and covered them in homemade barbecue sauce (there are several fine recipes on this website). DELICIOUS party appetizer! I'll also consider making them in a white sauce and serving them over egg noodles, a la Swedish "meatballs". Thank you, Janet, for posting this recipe! It's definitely on my "keeper" list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieHansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
These were awesome. I cut the sweetness in a double recipe by making only one recipe worth of sweet-sour sauce, and making up the difference with canned tomato sauce. It worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
Well I am bias since I do not eat meat. Still WOW. These are great just finish eating them 30 minutes ago. SO easy, So good. I made a Salisbury sauce instead and piped mashed garlic potatoes on top. My husband said this was a winner. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
I didn't use the sauce do I cannot comment on that but the "balls" were good. I omitted the sage as my husband isn't a fan and I used half the cheddar and half mozza cheese. I also added lots of garlic and used walnuts instead of pecans. They turned out tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
You have to love this recipe, everyday ingredients and great taste. I have made this a couple of times now, I use less vinegar, personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: May 18, 2005
This recipe makes a lot but it was so tasty that we didn't have any problems finishing them. A great alternative to greasy real meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
At first I thought these were wonderful then they proceeded to get harder and harder. Dont know what I did wrong, Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States