Sweet and Sour Faux Meat Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I did not make the sweet and sour sauce. I baked the 'meat' balls with a little olive oil and later added them to pasta sauce. They were fantastic. I have another batch in the oven right now, however, this time I have added carrot and celery and I am hoping they will turn out like faux rissoles. I can not recommend this recipe enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Oh my gosh, these were just so good, I don't know where to start! With the ingredients listed, I thought there was no way these could look anything like the picture, and couldn't understand how anyone could claim that they taste like real meatballs. Well, I was so wrong!! They really did come out looking exactly like the picture, and were indeed very similar to real meatballs in both taste and texture. I am going to use this recipe as a base to experiment with different sauces and flavours, like a tomato sauce to serve over spaghetti, or a spicy gravy to turn it into koftas with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
At first I thought these were wonderful then they proceeded to get harder and harder. Dont know what I did wrong, Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: May 18, 2005
This recipe makes a lot but it was so tasty that we didn't have any problems finishing them. A great alternative to greasy real meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
You have to love this recipe, everyday ingredients and great taste. I have made this a couple of times now, I use less vinegar, personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
I didn't use the sauce do I cannot comment on that but the "balls" were good. I omitted the sage as my husband isn't a fan and I used half the cheddar and half mozza cheese. I also added lots of garlic and used walnuts instead of pecans. They turned out tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
Well I am bias since I do not eat meat. Still WOW. These are great just finish eating them 30 minutes ago. SO easy, So good. I made a Salisbury sauce instead and piped mashed garlic potatoes on top. My husband said this was a winner. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
These were awesome. I cut the sweetness in a double recipe by making only one recipe worth of sweet-sour sauce, and making up the difference with canned tomato sauce. It worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
These appetizers really have a meaty texture and a wonderful taste. Non-vegetarians may not even realize that they're not made of meat! And for vegetarians, it's a refreshing and delicious alternative to soy-based meat substitutes. If you want them to taste more "sausagey" try doubling the amount of sage and add a hearty dash of dried basil. When I made this recipe for a holiday party, I coated a pan with non-stick spray, put the meatballs on it without the sauce, and baked for 30 minutes at 325 degrees F, in order to brown and firm them up nicely. Then I tossed them into a crockpot and covered them in homemade barbecue sauce (there are several fine recipes on this website). DELICIOUS party appetizer! I'll also consider making them in a white sauce and serving them over egg noodles, a la Swedish "meatballs". Thank you, Janet, for posting this recipe! It's definitely on my "keeper" list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieHansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
This was a great recipe. Easy and tasty. It's a little high in the fat, I am going to tweak it to see how low fat I can make it with out giving up the taste. Next time I will use a food processor to grind the nuts better. My 18month old threw some on the floor and the dog gives it 5 bones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States