Sweet and Sour Faux Meat Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
this recipe is amazing!!! made the meatballs last night for dinner. I didn't have any basil so I used Italian seasonings which was delicious. For the sauce I also used some honey along with the apricot and ketchup. This meatball recipe has now become the ONLY one I will use!. Next time I make them I'm going to go meatball sub and toss them into a really hood homemade marinara sauce! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I did not care for this recipe! I would have rated it 0 star if the site would allow. I followed the recipe exactly. The sauce tasted like ketchup and the meat balls were dry and tasteless. I will NEVER make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This sauce was OK... I used it on regular frozen "meat" balls but it was too tart. I would add sugar or reduce the amount of vinegar to improve the flavor. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I used meat. The sauce was the best. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
The meatballs are pretty good for other purposes (like spaghetti & meatballs), but we really didn't think they went with this sauce very well at all. I'd give the meatballs 4 stars but the combination of the meatballs & sauce only 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I did not care for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Edible, but I don't think it's a keeper. Had too much of a bready flavor, so if I were to do it again, I would probably cut down on the bread crumbs. The sauce was really good though. I think I will use that again with regular meatballs. In spite of being vegetarian, DO NOT mistake this for being healthy. I got 18 meatballs using a 2 tbsp scoop out of this recipe. Once I added up JUST the caloric stuff, that worked out to 205 calories per meatball. Yikes! BTW: this is the same recipe as Vegetarian Sweet and Sour Meatballs except with one more egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heliftsmeup
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Easy and quick to make. Very yummy and filllng. Made with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heliftsmeup

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
My family loved these. I used fat free cheddar and cottage cheese. Really good, but the texture is more like stuffing than a real meatball. We had these with mashed potatoes and a vegetable for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I did not make the sweet and sour sauce. I baked the 'meat' balls with a little olive oil and later added them to pasta sauce. They were fantastic. I have another batch in the oven right now, however, this time I have added carrot and celery and I am hoping they will turn out like faux rissoles. I can not recommend this recipe enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States