Sweet and Sour Drumettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
these were great--added a couple shakes of red pepper flakes to sauce as suggested. served sauce over rice with the wings. will be making this one often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I used chicken breasts instead of the drumettes and it turned out delicious. My boyfriend liked the sweet and sour sauce so much that he asked me to make a chicken and veggie stir fry tonight using your sweet and sour sauce instead of a stir fry or teriyaki sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mccallure
Home Town: Fort Morgan, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
We used thighs instead, which came out perfect. What we did was added two cloves of garlic, reduce the sugar to 2/3 cup, vinegar to 2/3 cup, added chili sauce 3tps. Bake the thighs for 40-45 minutes, then we put the thighs in to the toaster oven basting with the sauce for 10-15 minutes. You can use the broiler instead, just keep an eye on it. Came out perfect and had enough sauce. We made just two thighs, so if you add more thighs just double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
add red pepper flakes to sauce. marinade, then coat in flour and brown in oil. pour marinade over and bake at 350 for 30 mins. serve with rice, butternut salad and bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I realized when I was getting ready to pour the sauce on the chicken that I hadn't checked the reviews and I started to take the time to see what people said about the sauce because it looked really runny but was hoping it would thicken as it cooked. Unfortunately it didn't. I also thought about bringing it to a boil before I poured it on the chicken but since I was running short on time I decided to take a chance. I wish I had followed my instincts because it was still really runny when it was done (as many reviewers pointed out) The flavor was pretty good but probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Exceptional! Do as one reviewer noted, which is to add some of your favorite hot sauce to this (I used the srirrachi (sp?) sauce) to taste. YUM! And if you put in a little orange juice and/or orange zest, you will have something that tastes like a famous orange chicken......sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
The author does not tell us at what temperature to fry the chicken. Since I seldom fry anything, I had no idea at what temperature to cook the chicken. I first had it too hot, and then too cold as I tried to adjust. So although chicken was cooked through, some had a darker breading than others - a problem for small children. Flavor was good however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I made this recipe for dinner n it was soooo delish! I substitue the water for honey(like others has stated). I did add cornstartch however I think its not needed bc the honey thickens the sauce. I like my dishses to have a bit more sweetness to them, so I did a half cup of brown sugar n half cup of white sugar. Them followed the cooking step n now we have a winner.....WINNING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moonflower
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
The glaze had a good taste. The only thing that I didn't like was how watery the glaze was. I took the suggestion of another user to use honey and omit the water. The glaze was still not thick....I'll have to try adding something else to the sauce to get the consistency that I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Haven't tried this recipe yet but reading reviews and seems to be a problem tring to get the Sweet & Sour right. Just a little trick....use equal amounts of Grape Jelly & Ketchup, heat in a sauce pan while wisking. The perfect taste is REALLY easy to achieve!!! I make sweet & sour dishes quite often...and have found this a sure thing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States