Sweet and Sour Drumettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Very good! I actually made this with chicken breasts instead of drumettes and it was awesome. I sliced two breasts into about 3 filets each and basically followed the directions, changing only some ingredient amounts here and there. I only used one egg, 2 tablespoons soy and 4 tablespoons water. I also cut down on the sugar. Actually I used agave nectar in lieu of white sugar and cut down on the amount by roughly 1/2. I also added some Chinese Five Spice, cayenne pepper, and sweet chili sauce (like another reviewer had suggested). I fried the chicken as it called for, prob not for a full 15 mins, transferred to a baking dish, poured the sauce over and added some sliced zucchini and put in the oven for the said time. It all turned out so good! Definitely RQ baby (restaurant quality) as my husband says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mirielcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flossmoor, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
this is a amazing recipe i did it with boneless breast and i made it in to bite size pieces and its amazing i do it the same way as the drumettes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I used boneless chicken breast because thats what I had on hand. I added some asian chili sauce to add some spice. I cut the sugar in half and added some honey as others suggested. I also added cornstarch to the sauce to thicken it up. My boyfriend and I thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I followed advice from another to use flour to thicken the sauce. It was really good and I will make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I did not like this recipe!!!I wouldve prefered BBQ chicken drumettes. None of my family liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Excellent flavor, the only slight change I did was add 1/2 tsp. Louisiana Hot Sauce. I do question the terminology of drumettes versus drum sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Excellent recipe! My picky eaters gobbled it up and asked for more. The first time I made it exactly as written but next time I added some asian sweet chili sauce and ground pepper/garlic mixture for added kick.As well I used 1/3 cup Apple Cider vinegar as we had run out of regular. It was fabulous - a very happy accident.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamaiCanadian foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Here are some changes I made to the recipe as suggested by others who have tried this recipe previously. I used about 1/3 cup of white sugar instead of 1 cup and I added 1/3 cup of honey, 1 tbl of cornstarch, (many people were saying how the sauce was not thick enough & were suggesting the honey and cornstarch to thicken it) & 1 tsp of red pepper flakes. I also did not use any water. My kids loved these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
These were so delicious! I have never made drumsticks before and wow! I made drumsticks and thighs. I didn't want to heat up the house with the oven so I wrapped them in foil and cooked on the grill. YUM! Only two drumsticks were left over and I put them in the toaster oven to heat up for a snack the next day. Wish there had been more left over! Sauce was a little thin, next time I'll add a little more flour or cornstarch. There will be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DaleAnn82
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Totally rocked the kitchen last night with this recipe. I did as another reveiwer suggested and used half sugar/ half honey in place of the sugar. I added a couple of pressed garlic cloves and a couple of shakes of red pepper; omitted the water and added one tablespoon of cornstarch. Being as I was born and raised in Louisiana I deep fried my chicken until brown and then put it in the oven for 30 minutes; flipping chicken every ten minutes. It was awesome!!!! I served it with fried rice and oriental style veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States