Sweet and Sour Drumettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I followed advice from another to use flour to thicken the sauce. It was really good and I will make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I did not like this recipe!!!I wouldve prefered BBQ chicken drumettes. None of my family liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Excellent flavor, the only slight change I did was add 1/2 tsp. Louisiana Hot Sauce. I do question the terminology of drumettes versus drum sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Excellent recipe! My picky eaters gobbled it up and asked for more. The first time I made it exactly as written but next time I added some asian sweet chili sauce and ground pepper/garlic mixture for added kick.As well I used 1/3 cup Apple Cider vinegar as we had run out of regular. It was fabulous - a very happy accident.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamaiCanadian foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Here are some changes I made to the recipe as suggested by others who have tried this recipe previously. I used about 1/3 cup of white sugar instead of 1 cup and I added 1/3 cup of honey, 1 tbl of cornstarch, (many people were saying how the sauce was not thick enough & were suggesting the honey and cornstarch to thicken it) & 1 tsp of red pepper flakes. I also did not use any water. My kids loved these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
These were so delicious! I have never made drumsticks before and wow! I made drumsticks and thighs. I didn't want to heat up the house with the oven so I wrapped them in foil and cooked on the grill. YUM! Only two drumsticks were left over and I put them in the toaster oven to heat up for a snack the next day. Wish there had been more left over! Sauce was a little thin, next time I'll add a little more flour or cornstarch. There will be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DaleAnn82
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Totally rocked the kitchen last night with this recipe. I did as another reveiwer suggested and used half sugar/ half honey in place of the sugar. I added a couple of pressed garlic cloves and a couple of shakes of red pepper; omitted the water and added one tablespoon of cornstarch. Being as I was born and raised in Louisiana I deep fried my chicken until brown and then put it in the oven for 30 minutes; flipping chicken every ten minutes. It was awesome!!!! I served it with fried rice and oriental style veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Good but a little too sweet for me. I followed other's advice and added a little cornstarch to thicken up the sauce. Served with rice and wine and it made a tasty meal. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Terrific recipe; we all loved it. I followed others' suggestions and added cornstarch and hot chili sauce (Sriacha). I cooked the sauce ahead of baking to ensure it would thicken, and it did. It turned out perfect - nice and spicy with a bit of sweetness! I also used half honey and half sugar, and used red wine vinegar; I used chicken breast sliced into strips instead of drumettes. I served this with brown rice and stir fry vegetables. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This was easy and lip smacking good! My 5 year old is is very picky and he has asked for this every day since the first time I made it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States