Sweet and Sour Drumettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
The sauce itself was very good and easy to make! But the inside of the chicken turned out kind of dry :/ So you have to fry it pretty much all the way through (and to make the coating better you need to dip the chicken into the flour first, then in the egg batter, and in the flour again. That way there will actually be some coating on the chicken.) and then when you roast it, it'll finish faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Kretsu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I tweeted the recipe and added cornstarch,ground ginger,texas pete hotsause and crushed garlic.I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Loved this recipe. Doubled the glaze and cooked 12 drumsticks covered in sauce. I did not bother frying. It is not necessary to double sauce. I added cornstarch and it was still thin but coated he wings perfectly and was just the right amount. Not too overwhelming- just sweet enough. I am glad I did not glob the sauce on. Not as messy to eat as other wings, either! I served with fried rice. Delicious! Will make again, with any kind of chicken. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
My hubby raved about this recipe. I use thighs which work just as well, I also found it easier to use a sweet &sour sauce, or homemade pepper jelly on top which gives it a nice heat. When making the sauce from scratch I also substituted honey to make it thicker. A family favorite for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
sweet and sour is very strong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This had good flavor and I liked the idea of frying the chicken a bit before baking. Next time I would thicken the sauce and brush it on a few times while cooking the chicken in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarissa Neiding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Absolutely delicious. It takes some time to fry up the wings but the sauce is well worth it. My husband and 6-year-old daughter love the tangy sweetness. The recipe states 2 pieces per person...yeah right, impossible to only eat 2. The only thing I did different was cut the sugar in about half and it was just the right amount of sweetness for our taste. Definitely placing this recipe in heavy rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
First of all, there are no frying instructions. For those of us who don't fry food regularly this is a problem since it leaves out half of the cooking method. If I wanted to bake chicken there are a million other recipes for that, I was following this one for frying. I read through all the comments and couldn't find anyone who gave a tutorial on how to fry so I just came up with my own method, which was probably wrong. Second, the glaze is super thin and watery, I even followed suggestions from other users on ways to thicken it. I didn't taste it at all on the chicken afterwards which is a real shame. Overall I think the instructions are severely lacking in this recipe and the sauce is way too runny, making the outcome edible, but not very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Awesome! My husband made a point to tell me in between bites that he approved and I ate two instead of my usual one. I don't know which kind of vinegar most people use but I ended up with a combination of apple cider and white distilled, was just enough to finish off both bottles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tera
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I used 1/3 C honey 1/3 C sugar 1/4 C vinegar 3 Tbsp cornstarch and 1 Tbsp of water. For some zing I added 1/2 Tsp of orange peel granules 1/8 Tsp of Chinese 5 spice and 1 Tbsp of chili garlic sauce to my sauce ingredients and simmered in a sauce pan. Not boiled just warmed up until all the sugar dissolved. I ended up Tripling the sauce said above since I used a whole bag of chicken drumettes and 1/2 a bag of chicken tenderloins...experimenting with boneless. It tastes so gooood! Its like dinner and dessert all in one! Like chicken waffles. I DIE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States