Sweet and Sour Drumettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Loved this recipe. Doubled the glaze and cooked 12 drumsticks covered in sauce. I did not bother frying. It is not necessary to double sauce. I added cornstarch and it was still thin but coated he wings perfectly and was just the right amount. Not too overwhelming- just sweet enough. I am glad I did not glob the sauce on. Not as messy to eat as other wings, either! I served with fried rice. Delicious! Will make again, with any kind of chicken. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
My hubby raved about this recipe. I use thighs which work just as well, I also found it easier to use a sweet &sour sauce, or homemade pepper jelly on top which gives it a nice heat. When making the sauce from scratch I also substituted honey to make it thicker. A family favorite for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
sweet and sour is very strong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This had good flavor and I liked the idea of frying the chicken a bit before baking. Next time I would thicken the sauce and brush it on a few times while cooking the chicken in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarissa Neiding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Absolutely delicious. It takes some time to fry up the wings but the sauce is well worth it. My husband and 6-year-old daughter love the tangy sweetness. The recipe states 2 pieces per person...yeah right, impossible to only eat 2. The only thing I did different was cut the sugar in about half and it was just the right amount of sweetness for our taste. Definitely placing this recipe in heavy rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
First of all, there are no frying instructions. For those of us who don't fry food regularly this is a problem since it leaves out half of the cooking method. If I wanted to bake chicken there are a million other recipes for that, I was following this one for frying. I read through all the comments and couldn't find anyone who gave a tutorial on how to fry so I just came up with my own method, which was probably wrong. Second, the glaze is super thin and watery, I even followed suggestions from other users on ways to thicken it. I didn't taste it at all on the chicken afterwards which is a real shame. Overall I think the instructions are severely lacking in this recipe and the sauce is way too runny, making the outcome edible, but not very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Awesome! My husband made a point to tell me in between bites that he approved and I ate two instead of my usual one. I don't know which kind of vinegar most people use but I ended up with a combination of apple cider and white distilled, was just enough to finish off both bottles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tera
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I used 1/3 C honey 1/3 C sugar 1/4 C vinegar 3 Tbsp cornstarch and 1 Tbsp of water. For some zing I added 1/2 Tsp of orange peel granules 1/8 Tsp of Chinese 5 spice and 1 Tbsp of chili garlic sauce to my sauce ingredients and simmered in a sauce pan. Not boiled just warmed up until all the sugar dissolved. I ended up Tripling the sauce said above since I used a whole bag of chicken drumettes and 1/2 a bag of chicken tenderloins...experimenting with boneless. It tastes so gooood! Its like dinner and dessert all in one! Like chicken waffles. I DIE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
My family Loved it including a 3 year old! So simple but so flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dora.7

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I took beanie's advice and went with 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup honey, vinegar (no water), and chili-garlic sauce, and it turned out fantastic. I just wanted to add, however, that the sauce is still pretty thin, and you would do well to select cookware that is just barely large enough to hold the chicken and sauce--I chose a dish that gave the chicken some separation, and I ended up with a lot of blackened sauce at the bottom of the pan. Luckily, it was just barely caramelized and still tasted fantastic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States