Sweet and Sour Drumettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I am rewriting my review because after a little tweaking with the recipe me and my husband now just love it. It isn't hard to make, just frying up the chicken takes time. How changed the recipe was I instead used about 1/3-1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/3-1/2 cup of honey, soy sauce, 3 tbls. of vinegar or water (one or the other not both makes sauce to thin) and 1/2 tablespoon of chili garlic sauce (its an asian sauce that can be found in the ethnic food aisle at your grocery store). If you don't have or can't find the sauce then you could probably use red pepper flakes instead. I really do suggest that you put in some "heat" to the sauce it just makes it ten times better and you don't feel like your eating candy chicken. You don't need to add a lot of spice just a little for flavor. Hope this helps someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
These wings are addicting. And now this family's favorite chicken wing. After frying the wings, I transfered them to a 350 oven to really crisp up, added cornstarch to the sauce to make a thick glaze, basted the wings, turned them and turned the oven down to 250; basted the other side and let them finish for about 10 mins. You can baste them repeatedly depending on how much glaze you have left. The taste of the glaze is awesome (I added crushed garlic) and the crisp coating of the wings under it makes them even better. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
Wow! This is delicious. Was worried a bit when I used vinegar,Don't be..Outta of this world. Need to fry a lil longer than what recipe says.Thanks 4 sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
This is the simplest recipe with the most delicious results I've tried on the site to date. My kids fell in love with it and people can't believe it is so simple. Sometimes, I don't bother with the flour and egg and place meat into oven and pour sauce overtop and bake. I always make extra sauce for dipping with other meats throughout the week. It tastes great as a glaze on baked ham as well. It's definately cut back on the Chinese Take Out bills. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
Excellent and easy. I used honey instead of sugar for the sauce. I removed the skin from the drumettes, the cripsy coating turned out great. Sauce could have been a bit thicker, but reminded me of VH Sauce that my folks used to put over pork ribs. Next time may try adding cornstarch as others did, and maybe some garlic. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKYBJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
This chicken is so good. If you like sweet and sour anything try this. mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I'm not sure where I went wrong but the breading turned out very soggy. I'm not a big fan of frying so next time i'm going to skip the breading altogether and just marinade and bake the chicken in the sauce. My husband loved this and even my picky kids weren't so picky at dinner time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
I absolutely loved this recipe! I used drumsticks and it turned out fabulous. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
This was really simple to make and tasted wonderful. I served it with rice and the sauce was a perfect compliment to it,Thank you for the recipe Lynda!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Easy to make and very tasty. Although the drumsticks were too messy to eat with our hands because of the sauce. I will make again and maybe try it on boneless chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States