Sweet and Sour Drumettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was really, really good. However, I used one reviewers advice (beanie) and omitted the water, did 3 tbl of vinegar, 1/2 cup of honey, and 1/2 cup of sugar. I too added 1 heaping tablespoon of asian chili garlic sauce. I don't know if it's because I love heat and garlic but this nailed it for me. Next time I make this I am going to go lighter on the sweet stuff and heavier on the garlic/heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Like other reviewers, I made a few tweaks. I did not add water, and used just 3 tbsp of vinegar. It really was not a sauce, more like a basting liquid, and it didn't have much appeal as is. I added some thai chili sauce, and that thickened it up a bit. Next time I might use honey. I did not fry the drumsticks first, just dipped them in milk and flour, then baked for about 30 minutes. Then I added the sauce and kept basting every few minutes. The sauce had good flavor, but after you bite into the drumstick, all you get is baked chicken. For that reason, next time I might try de-boning the chicken after baking, then basting the small pieces in the sauce. Or maybe do chicken breasts in the crock pit, shred, then baste. The base recipe is a good combination of flavors, it really was sweet and sour and tasty, but for my tastes, I will apply it differently since I like things covered in sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Drum sticks where still raw in the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
LOVE this sauce!!! When I first made it the sauce didn't smell very good with all the vinegar but man does it finish well!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
The sauce itself was very good and easy to make! But the inside of the chicken turned out kind of dry :/ So you have to fry it pretty much all the way through (and to make the coating better you need to dip the chicken into the flour first, then in the egg batter, and in the flour again. That way there will actually be some coating on the chicken.) and then when you roast it, it'll finish faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Kretsu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I tweeted the recipe and added cornstarch,ground ginger,texas pete hotsause and crushed garlic.I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy George
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Loved this recipe. Doubled the glaze and cooked 12 drumsticks covered in sauce. I did not bother frying. It is not necessary to double sauce. I added cornstarch and it was still thin but coated he wings perfectly and was just the right amount. Not too overwhelming- just sweet enough. I am glad I did not glob the sauce on. Not as messy to eat as other wings, either! I served with fried rice. Delicious! Will make again, with any kind of chicken. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
My hubby raved about this recipe. I use thighs which work just as well, I also found it easier to use a sweet &sour sauce, or homemade pepper jelly on top which gives it a nice heat. When making the sauce from scratch I also substituted honey to make it thicker. A family favorite for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
sweet and sour is very strong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This had good flavor and I liked the idea of frying the chicken a bit before baking. Next time I would thicken the sauce and brush it on a few times while cooking the chicken in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarissa Neiding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States