Sweet and Sour Drumettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This recipe was very simple and I thought it tasted good, my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ayer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I have always made my S&S sauce with brown sugar and pineapple juice but, I loved this sauce. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I've followed some of the other suggestions and have used other chicken pieces for this recipe. It always turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This is by far my new favorite recipe! I used a 4 lb bag of chicken wings instead of drumettes. I put 1 1/4 cup of flour with a bit of paprika, garlic powder and salt in a large freezer bag. Then I put the chicken in the bag and shook it up really good. Kept in the bag, I set them in the fridge for a couple of hours to let the flour set. (note: I did not use an egg wash before coating). I doubled the sauce, but I boiled it for about 1/3 hour and then added about 1/4 cup of cornstarch to thicken it up. I deepfried these at 350 for a about 12 minutes. Once done, I put them in a glass 9x13, poured the sauce over the top and baked them for 1/3 hour. These were just amazing! So crispy and the flavor was out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lili Goehring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Absolutely Yummy!!! I added some garlic and red pepper flake and thought I had some chinese delivery!! Try it...it is sooooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
My family loved it with white rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
My husband really enjoyed the flavor...my 14-month old ate an entire drumstick himself. (He is also a picky eater, but obviously enjoyed this chicken)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Man

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Yummy! Tastes just like from a chinese restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VESNACSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
made this for father's day and my husband and guest loved it taste is delicious I added 1 clove grated garlic and 1tsp red pepper fakes and 1tsp grated fresh ginger it was great this is a keeper if I could give more stars I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Really fantastic! I will definitely be making this easy and cheap but scrumptious chicken often. I decreased the sugar to 1/3c and added a bit of honey in its place, I also added a touch of sesame oil (to up the Asian appeal of the dish) along with a tsp or so of cayenne pepper for that extra kick. It was just perfect. I also cooked down the sauce with some corn starch to thicken it. It was great on carrots and rolls- in fact I think it would be great on most anything- oh, I wonder what it would taste like on salmon?? Gonna try that next. Thanks a lot for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States