Sweet and Sour Drumettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I love love love this sauce! I skipped frying the chicken and just baked 5 chicken thighs in a double recipe of the sauce. Next time, I will marinate the chicken in the sauce overnight to have even more flavorful meat, but even without doing this the chicken was incredibly tender and tasted amazing. I used the leftover sauce to flavor future dishes of shrimp, rice, potatoes, etc. I used half honey and half sugar for the sugar part of the recipe - just make sure to stir thoroughly to blend them into the liquid portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Yummy! I did substitute brown sugar and red wine vinegar but I loved it and so did my family...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I made this as written and although it was good, the sauce was a little too sweet and too runny. I've made it quite a few times since, and found it tastes best using approximately 1/4 cup white sugar (or a little less) and 1/4 cup of honey and also adding a little something for some heat to counteract the sweetness (I usually use red pepper flakes). Sometimes for a change I use apple cider vinegar, but the white works well too. I also add about 1-1.5 TBS of cornstarch mixed with equal parts water and add that to the sauce. This thickens it nicely and creates a nice glaze while it cooks in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was a big hit at my party! I added some pepper and garlic salt to the flour before dipping the chicken in. And I used egg beaters instead of regular eggs to save time. To the actual sauce I added a healthy dose of crushed red pepper. It certainly had a zing to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This is basically a really nice recipe, but after reading some helpful reviews, I changed a couple of things slightly. Instead of the 1 cup of sugar, which I thought was completely ridiculous, I used 1/4 cup honey and 2 Tbsp. sugar. I changed the 1/2 cup vinegar to 3 Tbsp. I also seasoned the drumsticks and flour with salt and pepper and added a few pinches of red pepper flakes to the sauce. I know it's not fair to give a lower review when a recipe has been changed, but the only reason I'm actually not giving this recipe 5 stars is because of the amount of sugar being so over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
In looking for ways to save money, I purchased a package of chicken drumsticks and turned to Allrecipes for a way to make them special. This recipe did the trick! My family of 7 loved them. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This recipe was delicious, the only thing my husband and I didn't like about it was that the sauce was way too runny, it was more like a marinade than anything. But overall great recipe I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This was a great and easy recipe. I put a little olive oil in the pan and only lightly dusted with flour. The sauce my fiance and I changed to 3TBS soy, 1/4 cup sugar, 1/4 cup honey, 3 TBS chili sauce (thai chili sauce). The sauce made by taste and not measure, so be creative. We didn't use vinegar or water. It was more of a sweet and spicy chicken. Overall, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Overall, the sauce is fantastic! I couldn't stop bragging about it. I used store brand Apple Cider Vinegar and Kikkoman's Soy Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJRsMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Yummy...tryin it on porkchops next!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States