Sweet and Sour Drumettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I tried this recipe last night and I loved it but my husband could not have enough of it.I only had 5 pieces of chicken so the sauce was perfect even had dipping sauce.I followed others suggestion of using 1/2 cup of sugar and 1/2 of honey.This worked out great because last time I tried to make a sweet and sour sause it came out too vinegar-y.Thanks Mrs.Chef this will be one of our usuals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I was very pleasantly surprised! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This is soooo crave-able!! The next time I'm 'jonesin' for General Tso's I'm making this low budget goody! I skinned the legs and like others, I added about a tsp of Asian Garlic Sauce to the sauce recipe as well as omitting the water. To the flour for coating I added garlic powder, paprika, and ginger for extra kick. It was so easy with the shake-in-a-bag method. I found that the drumsticks reached 165 degrees internally after 20 minutes in the oven, so keep a good watch on yours! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teasnob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Wow! This was wonderful! I increased the receipe to 16 servings and used a value pack of chicken legs. The family loved it! My 15 year old very picky son couldn't even wait for his chicken to cool before eating it. It was even great cold from the fridge this morning. My picky family wants this again soon! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAILEYKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver City, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I made this dish as per instructions, and SOMETHING went horribly wrong. The coating of the chicken fell of end ended up being boiled in a red, runny soup at the bottom of the pan. I tried it alone in the kitchen, and it was a sweet, boiled chicken mess. 3 stars because I followed the suggestions of previous reviewers**, and my family LOVED IT! **I used regular chicken drumsticks **I took a tip to avoid runny / watery sauce and chose to use just vinegar, not both the vinegar and the water. **I didn't want to eat "candy chicken" so I added 2 tea spoons of crushed pepper flakes to the sauce to give it some kick, and it was perfect! **I forgot I had used all the white vinegar preparing the original calamity, so I used red wine vinegar and brown sugar this time as another reviewer mentioned. **I let the coating set on the chicken for about 5 minutes before frying **Because I used drumsticks, I fried them for 8 minutes each side, then reduces the oven time to 20 minutes. My basic meat and potatoes partner couldn't stop raving about it, and both of our picky 9 year olds ate 3 pieces each! I will try this recipe again with all the changes made, except I will try without substituting the white vinegar for red. See if that REALLY makes it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcsister

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Usually I am not a big fan of sweet and sour chicken but this one is REALLY GOOD! Like others suggested, I added cornstarch to sauce to make it thicker! Loved it! Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Tasty but time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This is a very good recipes, it came out very nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I followed the recipe tweaking it a bit here and there per suggestions after reading reviews Over all this recipe was Superb!! I will most definitely be fixing this again. My kids (who can be picky eaters) and husband loved it!! Thank you so much for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Great! My 5 year old, who likes everything plain, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States