Sweet and Sour Drumettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I made this dish as per instructions, and SOMETHING went horribly wrong. The coating of the chicken fell of end ended up being boiled in a red, runny soup at the bottom of the pan. I tried it alone in the kitchen, and it was a sweet, boiled chicken mess. 3 stars because I followed the suggestions of previous reviewers**, and my family LOVED IT! **I used regular chicken drumsticks **I took a tip to avoid runny / watery sauce and chose to use just vinegar, not both the vinegar and the water. **I didn't want to eat "candy chicken" so I added 2 tea spoons of crushed pepper flakes to the sauce to give it some kick, and it was perfect! **I forgot I had used all the white vinegar preparing the original calamity, so I used red wine vinegar and brown sugar this time as another reviewer mentioned. **I let the coating set on the chicken for about 5 minutes before frying **Because I used drumsticks, I fried them for 8 minutes each side, then reduces the oven time to 20 minutes. My basic meat and potatoes partner couldn't stop raving about it, and both of our picky 9 year olds ate 3 pieces each! I will try this recipe again with all the changes made, except I will try without substituting the white vinegar for red. See if that REALLY makes it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcsister

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Usually I am not a big fan of sweet and sour chicken but this one is REALLY GOOD! Like others suggested, I added cornstarch to sauce to make it thicker! Loved it! Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Tasty but time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This is a very good recipes, it came out very nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I followed the recipe tweaking it a bit here and there per suggestions after reading reviews Over all this recipe was Superb!! I will most definitely be fixing this again. My kids (who can be picky eaters) and husband loved it!! Thank you so much for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Great! My 5 year old, who likes everything plain, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
i make this over and over... my children absolutely love this chicken.... and everybody loves the sauce and asks me where i got it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
We all really enjoyed this recipe - especially the sauce! I took the advice to alter the recipe by using 1/2 sugar and 1/2 honey and thought that worked beautifully. My son (who is incredibly picky) even said "the sauce is awesome". I'm going to try and use this sauce on our next batch of chicken wings too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
i like it. the sauce is cute but i would liked the sauce to have been thicker.. 5/18/2010
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reese Sherman
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Wasn't that great as the recipe is written but next time I try it i will follow the other reviewers suggestions and somehow thicken the sauce, as it's written the sauce is like water and doesnt thicken up at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States