Sweet and Sour Drumettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was an excellent recipe that was overall easy and my kids and husband just loved. The only thing I did was instead of making my own sauce, I had Mr. Yoshida's marinade and I poured that over the chicken before baking. I made sure I turned the chicken at least once to get the sauce to coat all over during the baking process. I recommend cooking at least 35 minutes in the oven. This is def a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheistyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Used 1/2 cup sugar, would have used honey for thickness too but had none on hand. Added 1 teaspoon molasses maybe not the right addition to sauce. Would suggest frying the chicken a little longer for a darker brown coating. Added cornstarch because of consistencey, again honey maybe best! Be sure to coat both sides of chicken in sauce. Was a little sticky for our tastes but the chicken was very moist cooked this way. May experiement again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This recipe is awesome! It was not what I was expecting (because it is not sour at all), but it exceeded my expectations. I loves the texture that frying it adds. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laureng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Good recipe! I gave it 4 stars because I only used 1/2 cup sugar and it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Pretty darn good. I only had apple cider vinegar so I gave it a whirl and not bad at all. Very sweet-tasting sauce but we like it that way. Wish I would have remembered to throw in some chili pepper to give it some kick. Very easy. Good over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Yucca Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I loved it. I cooked drumsticks instead of drumettes, and it worked out great. Next time I will try it on boneless wings. I'd be eating more of it right now if fried chicken didn't have so many calories in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I tried this recipe last night and I loved it but my husband could not have enough of it.I only had 5 pieces of chicken so the sauce was perfect even had dipping sauce.I followed others suggestion of using 1/2 cup of sugar and 1/2 of honey.This worked out great because last time I tried to make a sweet and sour sause it came out too vinegar-y.Thanks Mrs.Chef this will be one of our usuals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I was very pleasantly surprised! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This is soooo crave-able!! The next time I'm 'jonesin' for General Tso's I'm making this low budget goody! I skinned the legs and like others, I added about a tsp of Asian Garlic Sauce to the sauce recipe as well as omitting the water. To the flour for coating I added garlic powder, paprika, and ginger for extra kick. It was so easy with the shake-in-a-bag method. I found that the drumsticks reached 165 degrees internally after 20 minutes in the oven, so keep a good watch on yours! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teasnob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Wow! This was wonderful! I increased the receipe to 16 servings and used a value pack of chicken legs. The family loved it! My 15 year old very picky son couldn't even wait for his chicken to cool before eating it. It was even great cold from the fridge this morning. My picky family wants this again soon! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAILEYKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver City, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States