Sweet and Sour Drumettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Very yummy sauce. Felt like there was an awful lot of sugar, but the taste was great. I cooked it longer than 30 minutes in the oven - more like 45.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
It was good but when i poured the sauce in the pan it had a lot left over and become really thick like a goo surrounding the chicken. Next time I'll leave some sauce to pour on the end. And brush the chicken with the sauce then midway cooking brush it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Excellent !! I wasn't expecting much when I decided to try this recipe. Prepared it exactly as written except that I reduced the sugar from 1 cup to 3/4 cup. It was so simple and turned out GREAT. It was a big hit with everyone -- definitely going to be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Easy and tasty. Boyfriend approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clayton
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I have prepared this recipe twice, adding just a pinch of this or that, my grandmother taught me. I usually create a special dish to relieve my wife and make her feel super special as she is. So far allrecipes has been a winner for me . My recipe box grows. Now I bring my crafts from the shop to the kitchen loving them both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I love this recipe and use it often. I use chicken drumsticks to make it into a dinner. I skip the frying part, it is a lot of work and really not needed. The sauce is absolutely delicious! I serve it over white rice and pour the sauce over so the rice absorbs it. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingclinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I replaced water with sake, sugar to 1/4 honey, and as suggested, a bit of red pepper. It came out still too watery. The chicken's inside has no taste. I think the chicken would have been much better by marinated over night in soy sauce + ginger + sake over night as most asian chicken recipe calls. Chicken also needed to be turned several times to catch the watery sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
My family was totally torn on this one. I made it exactly as written and personally speaking, it's not worth the time you invest. I think it could be a lot better if you used something besides just flour to coat (think panko with a spicy kick) or heat up the sauce. Or both. To me it was overpoweringly sweet. My husband on the other hand, ate double servings. Even slathered the sauce onto the rice. I will be making this again, but with some adjustments... And probably chicken breast instead of the drumsticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Oh My, this is the easiest, tastiest chicken I have ever made. A side of fried rice or even Uncle Ben's Long grain and wild rice and it s a great meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Coconut Creek, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was really, really good. However, I used one reviewers advice (beanie) and omitted the water, did 3 tbl of vinegar, 1/2 cup of honey, and 1/2 cup of sugar. I too added 1 heaping tablespoon of asian chili garlic sauce. I don't know if it's because I love heat and garlic but this nailed it for me. Next time I make this I am going to go lighter on the sweet stuff and heavier on the garlic/heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States