Sweet and Sour Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
We had an Isaly's Restaurant years ago that served this dressing. It was so popular, they also sold it by the quart. I add additional onion to help balance the amount of sugar in this recipe. Also, I added a little yellow coloring to make it reminiscent of the restaurant dressing. It can be made with prepared mustard as well. For those on sugar/carb restriction, it can also be made with that famous blue sugar substitute as well, though you will find you need to increase the amount of the sweetener. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I loved this recipe! Even my kids eat it, and they HATE salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Texans: This is almost a match for Babe's Chicken House house dressing! It's very sweet, with a nice vinegar tang, and the author is correct, it's surprisingly universally liked. I do grate the onion instead of finely dice (which is a pain, but results in a nice smooth texture) but other than that, no changes. :-) __Update!__ Also, the flavors become SO much more complex if you let the dressing sit for several hours before serving. It's phenomenal with spinach, bacon and fresh sliced strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
Excellent. We really enjoyed this dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
This was very good! I halved the recipe. I served it over mixed greens, and with pork roast and wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirelle James Edghill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
Usually, I know whether I'm going to like a recipe before I even make it simply by the list of ingredients...but was totally unsure of how this was going to turn out. I thought the amount of sugar was way to much. I scaled it down to 4 since I didn't need very much and it was still way to sweet. The other ingredients really didn't give it a lot of flavor but it did thicken up nicely as it was blending. Unfortunately, that's about the only thing I enjoyed about this recipe. Sorry, but this just wasn't my cup of tea. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I have tried numerous sweet and sour recipes...this is DEFINITELY our favorite. I make a double batch in my blender. Why does anyone buy bottled dressing when they can easily make this one?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camprunfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Excellent! I've also tried it with sweet red onion and it was also very good but came out an odd pink colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I loved this! I used thinly sliced red onion and I didn't have any dry mustard so I used prepared Dijon. Also I thought I'd soy sauce instead of the salt so it would add some color. LOL! Now I sound like one of those ridiculous reviews that gives a whole new recipe with the changes they've made! Regardless...it's good over a salad of mixed greens and mandarin oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELGAD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
i love this recipe, slight changes i made is half the salt,also try sweet onion.you can heat it and add bacon bits for spinach salad its fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbie fox

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Chef John's Green Goddess Dressing

See how to make creamy, herby Green Goddess dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States