Sweet and Sour Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
i love this recipe, slight changes i made is half the salt,also try sweet onion.you can heat it and add bacon bits for spinach salad its fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbie fox

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I have tried numerous sweet and sour recipes...this is DEFINITELY our favorite. I make a double batch in my blender. Why does anyone buy bottled dressing when they can easily make this one?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camprunfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Texans: This is almost a match for Babe's Chicken House house dressing! It's very sweet, with a nice vinegar tang, and the author is correct, it's surprisingly universally liked. I do grate the onion instead of finely dice (which is a pain, but results in a nice smooth texture) but other than that, no changes. :-) __Update!__ Also, the flavors become SO much more complex if you let the dressing sit for several hours before serving. It's phenomenal with spinach, bacon and fresh sliced strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I loved this! I used thinly sliced red onion and I didn't have any dry mustard so I used prepared Dijon. Also I thought I'd soy sauce instead of the salt so it would add some color. LOL! Now I sound like one of those ridiculous reviews that gives a whole new recipe with the changes they've made! Regardless...it's good over a salad of mixed greens and mandarin oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELGAD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This is an amazing dressing! I have been looking for a long time for a parisian style sweet and sour dressing. The celery seed is the magic ingredient, yum. I use sugar alternatives so I used 1/3 C. erythritol and 1/3 C. palm sugar. I did not have enough distilled vinegar so I used apple cider vinegar. The magic bullet works awesome for this recipe. I just chopped up 1/2 vidalia onion and let the magic bullet do the rest. The dressing has a great, thick consistence that emulsified perfectly. I also only used 1/2 teaspoon of canning salt, since a little of that goes a long way. Thank you so much for such a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dumblady
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Made this substituting vegetable oil with non-GMO olive oil. Threw everything in the food processor, worked like a charm! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dumblady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I omitted the onions and celery seed and it was still really awesome. I served over mixed greens with dried cranberries, candied walnuts, red onion and parmesan cheese. It was a huge hit at our Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I use splenda instead of sugar and serve on a spinach salad. Combine spinach, bacon bits, asiago cheese, then drizzle the dressing and toss. It has been a hit everywhere I have taken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Pretty good. Made as written. Makes a lot so I would half the recipe Used it over a cold salad of sliced purple potatoes, sliced baby bok choy, sliced radishes and feta cheese. Husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Thank you for this wonderful recipe. Without straying too far, I substituted 1 tsp onion powder for the onion, and drizzle the oil into the blender for a marvelously thick and delicious dressing that can be used as a slaw dressing or a vegetable dipping sauce. For those thinking they can use prepared mustard, you don't know what you're missing because it won't properly emulsify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Chef John's Green Goddess Dressing

See how to make creamy, herby Green Goddess dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States