Sweet and Sour Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2000
Very good! It's more sour than sweet, so if you like it sweet then add more of the pineapple juice and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Great dipping sauce! If you like more sweet than sour, use rice wine vinegar instead of white vinegar. I also like my sauces a little thicker, so I added a bit more cornstarch as the submitter suggested. If you want a richer color, add a couple drops of red food coloring - it works wonders. This stuff was great and my husband took one taste and all he could say was "Mmmmmmm". We ate this with egg rolls, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This was really good! I was looking for a sauce to use to make sweet sour chicken with veggies and this worked great. I sauteed some chicken until browned, added sliced carrots, onions red peppers, cooked for a few more minutes, then added the sauce and let it simmer for about 10 minutes. It thickened a little and coated everything nicely. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
This is a great all-purpose dipping sauce. I use it for spring rolls, coconut shrimp and pot stickers. I made it a bit thicker, and I also like it with red pepper flakes or a bit of chili paste in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I wanted to use this sauce with stir fry so I added a little extra cornstarch to make it a little thicker but made no other changes. This was exactly what I was looking for and I will be using it as a dipping sauce soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
the very best homemade recipe so far, only I have had better at restaurants -- I used rice wine vinegar which is an asian ingredient vinegar, & it gave it a more authentic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Sutterpants

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This came out much thinner than I wanted, so I added another teaspoon of corn starch to a teaspoon of cold water, stirred in and let simmer for 4-6 minutes. Perfect, and I LOVE that it wasn't bright red! Update Jan. 1, 2011: started with 2 tsp corn starch, used seasoned rice wine vinegar, 3/4 tsp canola oil and 1/4 tsp sesame oil, no salt, and left everything else the same, and it was awesome. 5-star keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
sorry!! I meant my criticism for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
The flavor of this was really good. I had to triple this only because it really didn't make as much as I thought it would. Once I set it on the stove and brought it to a boil, it wouldn't thicken. I had to make a slurry of 1/4 c. extra pineapple juice and another tbsp. of cornstarch. With just under a half of the slurry, it thickened up to where we needed it. NOTE: Jillian was absolutely right. The rice wine vinegar is the one you want to go with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Nice! Pretty strong on vinegar (I used rice instead of white), but great for vinegar lovers. This sauce is also a little thin, so I would probably thicken it more as the submitter suggests if I were wanting more cling to it - but because it is strong, the consistency as written works well for dipping without getting an overbearing amount of sauce. We had ours with vegetable spring rolls and it was really good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States