Sweet and Sour Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This sauce was just okay. It has a very strong vinegar taste even after additional sweetening. I did thicken it a bit more so it would resemble more of a sauce than a dip..but I have had better sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHELLYBEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
the very best homemade recipe so far, only I have had better at restaurants -- I used rice wine vinegar which is an asian ingredient vinegar, & it gave it a more authentic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Sutterpants

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Awesome. I used it to serve with the Kickin Meatball recipe from this site and it was a huge hit. I'm using the leftovers on my pork chops as I'm writing this and an looking forward to that great favour again. Thanks for the great sauce recipe. My son says its a definate redo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEADTIRED

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
We loved it! I didn't have brown sugar, so I used white sugar and a touch of honey, and it was the first time I'd ever had sweet and sour sauce that was actually both sweet and sour! Definite repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Higginbotham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
The second Sweet and Sour sauce I made for one meal, and this one was the keeper. It calls for a touch too much sugar and ketchup, I think, but other than that it's a great recipe in a pinch. It went really well with the Beef Egg Rolls by Trisha off this site. I might also, in the future, cut back on the oil a bit, but just to make it slightly less unhealthy. Thanks, Jackie, for a quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
VERY GOOD!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This was really good! I was looking for a sauce to use to make sweet sour chicken with veggies and this worked great. I sauteed some chicken until browned, added sliced carrots, onions red peppers, cooked for a few more minutes, then added the sauce and let it simmer for about 10 minutes. It thickened a little and coated everything nicely. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I wanted to use this sauce with stir fry so I added a little extra cornstarch to make it a little thicker but made no other changes. This was exactly what I was looking for and I will be using it as a dipping sauce soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
I thought this sauce was absolutely amazing, so much more flavorful than the red goo from the local takeout place. Unfortunately, my dh prefers his cornsyrup with red food coloring and didn't care for this so much. So, 4*s.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
sorry!! I meant my criticism for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States