Sweet and Sour Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is really quick and easy - a bit too sweet without a kick, though, so I added some red pepper flakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Less vinegar and more brown sugar. Otherwise, pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was delightful! I must admit that we had no ketchup on hand, just my husband and I who do not use ketchup. However, I did use the same amount of a mild BBQ sauce in place of that. It turned out spectacular! We used in on coconut shrimp my husband made and I would highly recommend it for dipping BBQ chicken, or any other grilled meat/s. Super easy, super good and very impressive. I will never buy bottled S&S sauce again, I am sure you could even substitute plum jelly in place of the ketchup for an instant plum sauce. We make our own eggrolls and pan fried dumplings, this sauce would work very well with those. This is a true keeper, thank you for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Way too much vinegar, I had to add more sugar and more ketchup...I used canned juice maybe that was why. If I try again I'll add the vinegar by tbs to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Combine this amazing sauce with chicken, stir fry and pour over white rice and you will have one amazing dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This is so-so. I didn't have pineapple juice, but had a can of crushed pineapple, so I added that and then strained the pineapple out after cooking. I don't care for the ketchup taste, so I might switch to tomato sauce next time. I didn't like how this tasted alone, but once dipped into an eggroll, it's pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDYLU35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This tasted great and was super easy to make with staple ingredients. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: University Place, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Very good dipping sauce and better than the packets for sure. I made some changes to get it to my liking: 1. rice wine vinegar instead of distilled white 2. 3 teaspoons cornstarch- otherwise not thick enough 3.sesame oil instead of vegetable oil 4. 4 tablespoons brown sugar These litlle changes made it better than take out sauce for us, thanks for the basic recipe-it was a great place to start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I added a bit more brown sugar and juice to taste, and this recipe was fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I enjoyed this with egg rolls, but at the first taste felt that the vinegar came through too strong. I added some more brown sugar and let it simmer a bit to mellow some of the vinegar taste. Perhaps using rice vinegar the next time would be a solution. I was also a bit skeptical about using the vegetable oil as I have never made a sweet and sour sauce with that ingredient. But after bringing the sauce to a boil with constant whisking, the oil emulsified into the sauce and gave it an especially smooth consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States